We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy stepping back to 1714 at the Pennsbury Inn”
Review of The Pennsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pennsbury Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Pennsbury Inn is an intimate, cozy and historic inn. Enjoy the wide plank floors and multiple fireplaces in the various public rooms - each with its own personality. The expansive grounds and gardens are welcoming & peaceful. Innkeepers Cheryl & Chip are committed to making each guest feel at home and all needs, expected & unexpected, are met. They are knowledgeable about area attractions & restaurants and quite helpful with directions. Be sure to check the inn's website as it is filled with good information for planning a trip to the Brandywine area. The inn is minutes from Longwood Gardens & the numerous restaurants at nearby Kennett Square. Allow two days if you also plan to visit Chanticleer Gardens and Winterthur. Be prepared for a most enjoyable stay at this historic bed & breakfast inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large room in the front of the house and it was very comfortable & has a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ikebanasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weigandygoose, Owner at The Pennsbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

How sweet of you to take the time to write a review. As you've pointed out so nicely, we do not just provide a comfortable bed and yummy breakfast, but want to also make sure that our guests take full advantage and enjoy all that the Brandywine Valley has to offer, as comfortably, economically and efficiently, as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Pennsbury Inn. The oldest part was built in 1714, and it is very nicely appointed in keeping with its history. The grounds were a wonderful surprise; although it's on a main road and very convenient to local attractions (Winterthur, Brandywine River Art Museum, Longwood Gardens), there are 4 or so acres of peaceful wildlife-friendly gardens. We stayed in a front room, but the road noise was not a problem for us; if it is, there is a "white noise" machine in the room. Dogs are allowed here with the innkeepers' approval, which was wonderful. Another couple had brought their sweet Golden, and the innkeepers have a friendly lap dog; this ameliorated our homesickness for our own dogs. Cheryl and Chip are welcoming, and think about the little things that travelers might need. Do you want to read in bed? There is a book light on the nightstand. Would you like something cold to take out for a day of sightseeing? They provide bottles, a water cooler, and soft drinks. There was a sweet treat waiting for us before bedtime each evening, and breakfast was ample and yummy.

Room Tip: A room in the back would be quieter, but we didn't have a problem with noise in our front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Avaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weigandygoose, Owner at The Pennsbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

How nice to have someone point out those little extras, that if you need them make your stay so much more pleasant. I also appreciate hearing about anything else that will make the Pennsbbury Inn your favorite, hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I spent a relaxing 3 nights here. The garden and grounds are so relaxing and pleasant! Chip and Cheryl are friendly and helpful...and we really enjoyed Tucker, the adorable "guard dog"! It's a great place to stay as it's near a number of destinations like Winterthur, Longwood Gardens, and the Brandywine battlefield. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the inn are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weigandygoose, Owner at The Pennsbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We will eagerly look forward to your return visit and Tucker is especially fond of your pats and rubs and asked me to tell you to hurry back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for the 2 nights that we visited local attractions. Cheryl and Chip were gracious hosts, making reservations for us and providing some local color. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the breakfasts are very generous. Our room was in the oldest section of the house up a narrow, winding staircase ... Just what we wanted. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weigandygoose, General Manager at The Pennsbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

This reviewer is certainly right, the Pennsbury Inn is not as good as it could be, but I believe that can probably be said of any business, or any person in fact. Don't we all strive to be and do better every day? I know I do.

I'm not sure why Chip microwaved the waffles and he shouldn't have. I stay up till 3 or 4:00 making some the waffles and freeze them. Chip normally just pops those into a 300 degree oven, and they come out, puffed and crisp. He then has a head start and can continue making them. I do it that way, because even with 2 waffle makers going, it's impossible to feed a dozen or more people in a timely fashion. I know that most B&B's do not make Belgian waffles for that very reason. Believe me, if I took them off the menu, I would have very disappointed guests. I have spoken to Chip about the microwaving, which he doesn't remember doing, but will not do again. Thank you for the tip on the smoothies-he will remember in the future, when guests don't come down when they're expected, to put them back in the refrigerator. A hazard of being flexible and serving breakfast when the guests want it and not having certain hours.

You're right, entering into our office area, as we don't have a secretary, is not the best, but we do provide a love seat and two comfortable chairs to sit in while you register. There are four other parlors for our guests to relax in, a front porch, 4 acres of gardens and a patio, as well as their rooms. We could spend more time, sifting through the huge volume of junk mail and putting away shipments, but wouldn't you rather have us show you around, explain the history of the house and point out all of the things that we provide to increase your comfort and knowledge of the area?

I'm certainly glad that the road noise didn't bother you and glad that you appreciatedYour help with that.You're right being 3 minutes from Longwood Gardens is a delight. That may have something to do with my desire to have my own "little" Longwood Gardens, in my back yard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My sister-in-law and I had a delightful one night stay here in mid-May. The well kept gardens and grounds were absolutely beautiful, and the inn lived up to its promised historic flavor. Yes, the stairs are narrow and winding, and as Chip led us to our room (the Lafayette) we marveled at his determination and cheerful demeanor in spite of dealing with a cane and unexpected setback after a recent hip replacement! Once settled, these hosts are there if you need or want them, and non-intrusive if you don't. There are several cozy common sitting areas for quiet reading, conversation, or relaxing. We loved the special bedtime chocolate treat left in our room, coffee and tea readily available at 7:30 am, and the beautifully-presented, delicious breakfast which was served at a time to accommodate our schedule. The special seniors' rate, help with tickets to Longwood Gardens, and proximity to Winterthur and other local attractions (along with helpful information on places to visit, time needed, etc.) was a much-appreciated bonus. We would recommend this inn to anyone looking for historic character and comfort.

Room Tip: The grounds and gardens in the back of the inn are so beautiful, I would think a room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.9 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
389 reviews
2.2 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
3.3 km away
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennsbury Inn

Address: 883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-9351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range: ₹ 10,252 - ₹ 12,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pennsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
c.1714 Colonial Country Inn, with 7 guest rooms (featuring comfy feather-bedded twins to kings), 5 first floor parlors and 8 acres of award-winning gardens and wooded trails. There are sumptuous breakfasts, all day beverages and treats & bedtime snacks at this warm cozy bed and breakfast. A perfect getaway place for travelers far and wide who come to the Brandywine Valley to explore its myriad treasures. Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Hagley and the Wyeth art at the Brandywine River museum are all just a few minutes a way, and just the beginning of this area's treasures. Hiking, biking, hot air ballooning, fishing, horseback riding and so much more. The 7 wineries of the Brandywine Wine Trail and other independent wineries, invite you to taste and tour. Our outstanding area restaurants end your evening with perfect taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Pennsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennsbury Hotel Chadds Ford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing