We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The advertised wellness center is defunct, but still promoted on website. The decor is circa early 1980 and needs updating, the afternoon tea still advertised has been wiped out- new ownership that has tanked it- waste of money

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne H, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of updating our website so that we can avoid disappointing people who are looking for the wellness center. We are also in the process of updating our property's decor, beginning with the public areas and televisions.

We do still offer Afternoon Tea between the hours of 4pm-6pm daily. This service features hot tea, iced tea, and fresh-baked cookies. I am uncertain of what happened to make you believe that we no longer offer this service. Please contact me at the hotel if you would like to further discuss your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    136
    57
    21
    24
See reviews for
76
189
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Considering its in a very good area. I decided to go do some sightseeing with my husband to the Brandywine battle field and Wyeth Museum. We decided to do a little overnighter for a romantic evening. This was a very good hotel. It was on the dirty side. The Jacuzzi was lousy. I have been to cheaper hotels with better Jacuzzis. The bathroom sink wasn’t working right, nor was the shower.. These place needd better maids, and their plumbing needs to be worked on. Look elsewhere. Considering its in a very good area. I decided to go do some sightseeing with my husband to the Brandywine battle field and Wyeth Museum. We decided to do a little overnighter for a romantic evening. This was a very good hotel. It was on the dirty side. The Jacuzzi was lousy. I have been to cheaper hotels with better Jacuzzis. The bathroom sink wasn’t working right, nor was the shower.. This place need better maids, and their plumbing needs to be worked on. Noisy too. I could hear someone talking in the next room. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennadoctor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne H, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for letting us know that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to keep our property well maintained and clean. When there is a problem, often the guests are the first to notice, so it helps that you bring it to our attention. If you should have an opportunity, please call me at the hotel. I do not have access to your name to look up your stay and I would like to make certain that the issue is (or has been) addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel has changed ownership & is not the charming place it once was. Rather disappointed & will probably choose the 'chain' hotels for future stays.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne H, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
While it is true that we changed ownership in January 2011, we have attempted to keep changes to a minimum (or make positive changes.) If there is something that we have changed that you would like to see brought back, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We love this hotel. Charming and cozy. Good location for seeing Winterthur and Longwood Gardens. Walk to very fine dining.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne H, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you for your third trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting the valley attractions. Room was cozy, bed comfortable, but showed signs of wear. The breakfast can use some attention, went down at 8:00' and was pretty much bare, mostly due to one "large" group that pretty much picked it clean, which is not the hotel's fault, but someone had to go to the front desk to ask for someone to service the food and coffee / tea, which were running out. Would stay again, though. also the lobby is small and very cozy with a fireplace. when we arrived, we would have missed the afternoon tea, because we were heading to the Holiday Lights at Longwood, but the lovely lady said to help ourself to the cookies that were already out in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne H, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do our best to keep up with our breakfast, but occasionally there is some delay in replenishing if our desk staff is busy with guests or our breakfast attendant is otherwise occupied (making waffle batter, baking cookies, etc.) Thank you for your understanding and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
4.7 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
593 reviews
9.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
5.8 km away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Property: Brandywine River Hotel
Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,251 - ₹ 11,102
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing