We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time, still a charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Glendorn
Certificate of Excellence
Summit, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Third time, still a charm!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I had stayed at Glendorn twice before with my husband for romantic weekends. This time I stayed with our family and each visit was equally enjoyable. There is so much to do. It was like having our own family compound like back in the day. We all stayed together in one of the separate houses. It is a nice opportunity to be with family and not be distracted by the day to day routines . There are lots of opportunities for various ages to do things together. Different family members tried the shooting, fishing, horseback riding, swimming and hiking. Tanya leads the equestrian center and she was terrific with everyone in the group.
Every person who worked there was friendly, accommodating and professional. There is new ownership and Glendorn is being made even better with each stay. This is a one of a kind place and somewhere that is a memory waiting to be made.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    22
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
109
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We finally had a chance to make it back to the Glen Dorn - our 3rd trip but 1st under the new ownership of Cliff Forrest! WOW were we impressed once again! We usually stay at the Miller Cabin (still our ultimate favorite) but had the opportunity to stay at the Hideout this time. AWESOME remote, private and perfectly romantic way to celebrate a weekend! We had dinner this time in our cabin - something we've wanted to do in the past but was cost prohibitive under the previous ownership. We were allowed to dine in our cabin at no extra charge - by candlelight and very romantic. Don't get me wrong, cocktails and dinner in the Big House are great and we've enjoyed it each time - meeting and dining with other visitors! It was a short weekend and much needed time away. Many nice subtle changes were noticed one being Mountain Casual dress for dining versus Dinner Dress Attire. Don't get me wrong - I enjoy dressing to the nines for dinner but the atmosphere and weather sometimes wasn't conducive to walking in mud and muck in high heals and dress shoes! The more casual dress was perfect for the relaxed weekend we were there to enjoy! The staff was AWESOME and so glad to see Natalia was still there! We were impressed that she remembered us from our previous visits and that we've stayed normally at the Miller cabin. Now I know our history of information is probably stored for all of them to have at their fingertips but quite frankly, I was impressed that she and the others on staff took the time to familiarize themselves with that information . The personal touch is so unique! Not once did any staff member have to ask who we were - yet they acknowledged us by name each time! I can't wait until we can get back there again! One regular welcoming I do miss... the chocolate chip cookies in the cookie jar in the cabin! Bring them back please! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPrincess3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our daughters gave us a gift certificate to Glendorn for Christmas, 2010. We were told that the food was fabulous. My husband and I are not outdoor sports people, but we loved the pool and private lake. This is an amazing place to go for a quiet, romantic week-end. We met other couples enjoying the same experience. And, yes, the food was fabulous. Maybe the best Christmas gift ever!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobycosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Have stayed here three time and plan on making it an annual trip. Best service and facilities you'll ever find. The staff and management could not give any better service. They will accomidate your every need and make you feel welcome. We loved the horseback riding, trail walking, feeding the large trout, dinners at the lake, can't wait to go on a float trip. We get there and never want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms and lodges are great we love the Hideout, secluded, private, even has its own shooting gal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dddwww123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights & absolutely loved it. If you like cookie-cutter properties, then Glendorn isn't for it. It is oozing with charm & the property is quite unique. It was originally a wealthy family's summer camp, similar to the great Adirondack estates. We stayed in the Roost, one of the original cabins with 5 bedrooms. It had so much character & one felt like they were going back in time - it was like being in the 1930s. The other cabins are more modern. The beds were extremely comfortable, with luxurious linens & everything was top of the line & well maintained. The bathrooms are also wonderful with great soaking tubs, and the sitting rooms were comfortable & cozy.

This property would be perfect for a romantic escape, or for families. We bike rode, took a guided horseback ride with an amazing guide, went skeet shooting, & fished. Shane was the best shooting instructor. There are also miles & miles of hikes. The grounds are stunning & well maintained, & there is a lot of privacy given the layout. We used the babysitting service & it was fantastic. The pool is also wonderful.

The food was decadent & delicious (& we are from New York City & used to great food). We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikik1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
6.9 km away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
27.0 km away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
6.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
148 reviews
27.1 km away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Glendorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Glendorn

Property: The Lodge at Glendorn
Address: 1000 Glendorn Dr, Bradford, PA 16701-4648
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bradford
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,755 - ₹ 62,247
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Glendorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Glendorn Hotel Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing