We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies' Spa Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ladies' Spa Weekend”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My three sisters, sister-in-law, cousin, and I met at Omni Bedford Springs to celebrate my sister's 50th Birthday, taking advantage of their Spa Package. We arrived at 10:00 am on Saturday morning and left on Sunday afternoon at 2 pm. Hands down, those were the best 28 hours spent at a hotel with "the girls." We had each scheduled one or two spa treatments, had lunch served at the spa, Afternoon Tea and Breakfast in the Crystal Room, and dinner at the 1796 Room. We did a little shopping, a short hike in the wooded mountain side, yoga, and lots of lounging in the spa area and the sitting areas around the hotel. We did go into town for a couple of hours to do some shopping.

The hotel itself was a throwback to another era of old elegance, originally opened 200 years ago. They have old black/white and sepia-toned pictures from the early days which lent a wonderful historical feel. But the rooms have been renovated and are nonetheless modern with granite countertops in the bathrooms and flat-screen TVs hidden in antique-looking armoires. They had neat little touches such as the the lights in the closet automatically turning on when you opened the closet door and an umbrella stand by the door with carved walking sticks to use on your mountain hike. There were many sitting areas throughout the hotel both inside and out, rocking chairs on wide verandas and porches, chaise lounges indoors in front of floor-to-ceiling windows looking out to the mountains, chairs around large firepits to roast marshmallows at night, a lobby area which had tea available in the afternoon so you can sit and listen to the grand piano. Very civilized and relaxing.

The spa was wonderful. My favorite spa is very modern in style, but the Bedford Springs spa had all of the same amenities with a much more traditional style in the furnishings. Before my massage, I sat by the fire in the spa lounge (co-ed) with my sisters chatting about life, sippling herbal teas, and nibbling on fruit and nuts. After my fabulous massage, I went through the unique bath ritual with the mineral waters and then had a salad in the spa area. I was done with my treatments that day so I read magazines and had lunch in the spa lounge while my sisters came in and out, chatting with me between their treatments.

After the spa, we all had Afternoon Tea, where they served special teas, blended for the hotel by a local tea shop. They only offered two choices of loose teas, both black teas with very unusual blends of flavors (e.g. chocolate, coconut, and strawberry notes). We all ended up trying both and loved them. Mighty Leaf teas in the usual types were available by the bag. Instead of bringing out a tiered server with the tea sandwiches and pastries, servers came by and gave us one sandwich or pastry at a time. Everything was delicious, and they gave us seconds or thirds of our favorites. We had to work off our tea so we walked around downtown and shopped in the quaint stores. Then back to the hotel for a late dinner in the 1796 room, a small dining room with an old tavern feel. Our server and his team were excellent and the food--not inexpensive--was bountiful and delicious. My sea bass was perfectly seasoned and prepared as was everone else's steaks and seafood.

After a morning of yoga and hiking, we had brunch in the Crystal Room, which was a combination of a cold and hot buffet, carving stations, and omelette and pasta stations. Again, the food quality was excellent.

I thought this hotel was a wonderful place to spend a long weekend. We really could have used another day or two to take full advantage of everything they had to offer, e.g. tennis courts, pool, kids' programs. I plan to come back, particularly in the summer or fall.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra room and don't mind a sloping ceiling, ask for the double rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for choosing The Omni Bedford Spring's to celebrate your sister's birthday. We are thrilled that your 28 hours with us was everything you were hoping for and more. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,832
    683
    187
    73
    41
See reviews for
792
1,898
74
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Beautiful building and grounds. Played golf here and on nearby 9 hole Elks course. Perry the breakfast chef makes wonderful personalized breakfasts and seems to really care if you are enjoying you meal. Horseshoes and croquet on the lawn and morning runs along the trails suck the stress of the city right out of your system. Also history buffs can't get enough. One night dinner in the Crystal room seemed that they fell behind on demand and root beer has a silly high price in the bar. My wife teenage sons and I were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkpltbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We are delighted to read that your escape from the city proved to be relaxing at The Omni Bedford Springs Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west springfield, pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I went there for a confrence starting on a fri and ending on a sunday. had meetings the whole time, didn't get to enjoy the spa was too busy but will be going back to do so. lovely old historical hotel with lots of detail. the hotel grounds are great.

Room Tip: they have rooms with shared porches on one side of the hotal with a view of the grounds the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We are glad your conference allowed you to stay at The Omni Bedford Springs but regret that you didn't get to take advantage of the many amenities that were available to you. We hope for the chance to welcome you back for a stay that consists of rest and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Family get-away from DC area; easy drive with two kids in tow (6 and 9). Four-night stay was delightful, restful, easy. There was a glitch in our reservation -- room type and special requests were not honored. We complained and were upgraded for remainder and comp'ed a meal. More meaningful than the upgrade was the recognition of the error and the sincere effort to make up for it. It worked, and I'm giving 5 starts instead of 4 as a result. Indoor pool is warm and large. Spa area is also lovely. Meals in the Tavern were good and relatively reasonable, though there are two spots in town (Jean Bonnet and Bird's Nest) that we enjoyed a bit more. Not much to do here other than slow down. Hikes in the hills directly across the street were lovely and well-marked. Easy biking at nearby Shawnee State Park was also fun (we brought ours). BTW, Fat Jimmy's Outfitter was great for an unexpected bike repair. The scale was just what we were looking for -- great combination of comfort, reasonably-priced luxury, low-key activities, pretty surroundings. Will likely return for an easy 2-3 night relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Although we regret that upon your arrival you were greeted with a hiccup we are pleased to read that all was quickly resolved so you could enjoy your time with us. Thank you for the complimentary review and we will look forward to welcoming you family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

stayed every year since it opened and it seems to have become a " your lucky to get what we give u" attitude. though they say they have a loyalty program which means you get an email before u come not much more. and they check which rate u paid for ur room, so unless u paid top dollar they're not much interested there also never seems to be enough: people to help you, spa appts available, restaurants open, (some close on weeknights) valets etc. in general the service is very friendly but somewhat contrived, and turns sour if u aren't bubbling over with appreciation. hot springs bath and spa are really special. the hiking trails and fire pit are fun but all in all for an exclusive resort - they could do better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We regret to read about your most recent experience at our resort. We would like to assure you that customer service continues to be a top priority for us and reviews like yours help us to understand where we may need to make adjustments. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will stay with us again so that we may provide you with the service and amenities that you have come to expect from our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
6.5 km away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
382 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
681 reviews
6.8 km away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
74 reviews
22.9 km away
Best Western Plaza Inn
Best Western Plaza Inn
#4 of 8 in Breezewood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Property: Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,020 - ₹ 32,809
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing