We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for crabbing”

Robinson Park at Port of Alsea
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Waldport
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Docks are very well maintained and it is definitely a busy spot. Crabbing was excellent and was a great sport for my kids 10&12 to learn. Crab are currently big and are amazing! Being from Idaho it was the best crab I have ever eaten!!!! Beaches are fantastic and the locals are so friendly. The whole town is amazing.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Dpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beach area"
in 2 reviews
"crab"
in 2 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 3 reviews
"dock"
in 2 reviews
"bay"
in 3 reviews
"bridge"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2014

Quiet, uncrowded, with low grassy dunes and a super view of the bridge and bay. The sand gets mucky at the waterline, which makes walking difficult, but the rest of the park and beach make for a pleasant rest. Two memorial benches allow for sitting. I like it best off season.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This little park is such a hidden treasure. A large parking area allows for easy access. Picnic tables and fire pits are situated between some mounds and are blocked from the wind. The beach is full of treasures: driftwood, rocks, shells, critters, crabs, birds, harbor seals, beautiful sunsets, and more.

Restaurants, shops, and restrooms are within walking distance.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

For a small town, Waldport does well by its' port. I live here and the docks are always busy, esp with crabbers right off the dock. Maggie Rivers, Port Manager, has done an excellent job over the years of keeping people apprised of the secret little gem we have in Waldport!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Peta_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Robinson Park is tucked away at the little Port of Alsea, next to the the boat ramp in Old Town. It's a very small park with nice views of the bridge and the bay. From the park, you can walk along the edge of the bay, which is a nice level beach area ... but there are no waves!

We stop by here from time to time in the summer as it does not get the wind that the beach gets. We've enjoyed picnics here too! There are three picnic tables with fire rings next to them. Two are kind of sheltered and one is up on a little knoll with a great view of the water.

There is an informational sign about "ghost shrimping". I find many coastal visitors are not familiar with what this, so this tells them about it.

There are two wooden benches where you can sit and enjoy the view, but to me they are rather uncomfortable unless I've remembered to bring some sort of cushion!

It's a pleasant little park :-)

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robinson Park at Port of Alsea also viewed

 
Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Robinson Park at Port of Alsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing