We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not quite what I expected, very disappointed.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashley Inn of Tillamook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected, very disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We normally stay at the Shilo Inn and Suites across the street from the Ashley Inn but decided to try something different this time around. We were extremely disappointed. This was not was we're used to. To start, the pull out bed did not have sheets on it. We had to get sheets and make the bed ourselves. The maid left the trash in our room and did not pick up either.

The breakfast in the morning was very, very disappointing. The eggs were actually powdered eggs! The breakfast muffins were made from cake mix. The orange and apple juice was not real juice. There was no basic breakfast fruit of any kind. My wife and child were struggling to get in the front door of the inn and the staff just stood there and watched and didn't offer to help or assist.

Normally, little things would not get to us but once you start adding it all up at over $100 a night, this place was atrocious. What topped it off was that they charge $4.00 in the lobby to rent DVDs that are ten years old when you can literally walk one minute to Fred Meyer and use the Red Box for $1.00. We'll be staying at the Shilo Inn & Suites going forward.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2741Bodensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwt97141, Front Office Manager at The Ashley Inn of Tillamook, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback, guest satisfaction is a priority for our hotel. I have reviewed your comments with the housekeeping staff regarding their policies on cleaning stay-overs to ensure guest satisfaction. I also spoke with breakfast staff and we will be moving our fruit bowl to a more visible location. The staff also reassured me that we do not use powdered eggs of any kind.
I apologize that our newer movies were unavailable for you during your stay. I reviewed your comment regarding the price of movies and we have since lowered our prices. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    89
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
58
96
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have stayed in the RV section of the Ashley Inn several times now, and I have to say that it is a nice place to land after a day of outdoor activities. The RV pads are in very good shape, there are full hookups, a light and a picnic table. Priced at approximately $25/night during the winter season, you simply cannot beat it!

The staff here are all very friendly and personable. They seem to remember their guests, and all try very hard to help you feel welcome. As only "partial" guests of the hotel, RV guests are still allowed to enjoy the warm fireplace in the lobby, the computer, free wifi, the pool and jacuzzi, the breakfast buffet and unlimited coffee and tea.

The breakfast is fairly limited with cereal, waffles and scrambled eggs...but seriously....I am not staying here for the free breakfast, and I think it's a nice touch to have something available to guests included in the price. I don't get too picky about it. It's simple and just fine.

The lobby also has coffee and tea throughout the day and evening, and the staff is more than happy to pop some fresh popcorn in the movie theater style popper in the evening if you ask. They welcomed us to hang out, enjoy the popcorn by the fireplace and watch a movie on our portable DVD player.

There is a review somewhere previously about "barking dogs" at a nearby house that ruined this guests stay. While I surely would have also been quite annoyed by this had I experienced it, I would assume that the helpful staff would have moved any guest with a concern about noise. I have walked around the parking lot, and have seen the house with the dogs. I feel actually quite sorry for them locked in a smallish outdoor kennel. No wonder they barked! But, I would blame the owners, not the hotel, and I will assume that the staff will move you if you are unhappy with your room for any reason. Poor dogs.......And for the record, I did not hear them barking during any of my stays in the RV section.

All in all, this is a nice, simple hotel for travelers, fishermen, families, and anyone staying in or passing thru Tillamook. The RV parking is very affordable and is a great deal when you are on the road and need a safe, quiet place to stay the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuburbanWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Tired after traveling all day we found The Ashley Inn in Tillamook, Oregon.
This was a very nice place to stay.
It was an upgraded hotel from something else and was nice and clean.
We spent a relaxing evening there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Ashley Inn in Tillamook is a very nice hotel that I would choose again. The beds were very comfortable (my main interest). Instead of a pillow top they had a memory foam top -loved it. The room itself was very clean. It was great having a DVD player and a ton of free DVD options to choose from. They did have a breakfast but we rarely make it up early enough for those.

Room Tip: If you enjoy TV, know that some rooms have flat screens and some have older TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had a great room, very clean, very comfortable bed. The price was reasonable. The breakfast was more than usually offered at this price range. The location was good. The staff very helpful. The recommendation for dinner was very nice and exactly as described. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillamook
0.4 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
10.6 km away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
10.5 km away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
16.9 km away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
18.4 km away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Inn of Tillamook? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Inn of Tillamook

Property: The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
Address: 1722 Makinster Rd, Tillamook, OR 97141-7755
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,552 - ₹ 7,822
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ashley Inn of Tillamook 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose one of 51 well-appointed guest rooms featuring air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (wired and WiFi), cable television and DVD players. Mini-suites are also available and come with a sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Ashley Inn of Tillamook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashley Inn Of Tillamook Hotel Tillamook
Best Western Tillamook
Best Western Hotel Tillamook
Tillamook Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing