We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
223
239
83
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
239
83
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower waffles main building breakfast room is baldwin saloon heart of downtown covered parking within walking distance hard boiled eggs bed was comfortable stay there again the river staff was very friendly shower head front desk staff great place to stay clean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The best thing about this property is the location near everything from nature walking to historic tourism. Good restaurants and bars are all nearby within walking distance. Room was comfortable and breakfast was adequate. The hotel has a nice little pool and with a small hot tub or spa would be perfect. Staff were courteous and helpful and gave discount cards for local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twobuttes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The Dalles Inn is within walking distance of everything you'll want or need. My room was spotless, bed was welcoming and shower was hot and lotsa pressure!
Staff was so very friendly! Rene at the front desk was cheerfully helpful, indeed!
Breakfast area is very well supplied with all wants.
THANK YOU,!

Room Tip: Any room is good, I believe. Mine was close to the elevator and it was quiet as a church mouse.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WeBeenThereDoneThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

When I stay at a hotel I look for cleanness and comfort, and this hotel had it. We stayed on the third floor and found our king size bed and room very comfortable.
The breakfast that is offer is very adequate and filling. No complaints. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fanr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDallesInnManager, General Manager at The Dalles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate the kind review. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We had the great pleasure of staying here to celebrate my birthday over Memorial Day weekend and enjoying wine at one place in town down the street within easy bicycling distance and at Mary Hill and Marshall's Wineries on the Washington side of the River by car. The staff were all great, particularly Renee who welcomed us at reception and wished me a Happy Birthday and asked if we would like a card for a discount at a very near historic restaurant and bar and former brothel, which I had read about and planned on going to. The food at the restaurant was good but the service was slow unlike the great food and shakes at Big Jim's Burgers that I remembered from an earlier trip! An excellent breakfast was included both days and we were allowed early checkin and late checkout and found a wonderful gift basket with corn nuts, cookies, chips, Cheetos a bottle of Maryhill white wine and a balloons and a birthday card signed by 16 employees! The wine in town at a silo like building was not worth the tasting cost but both Maryhill and Marshall's were well worth the time, Maryhill had free tastings celebrating their 15th anniversary over Memorial Day weekend and Marshall's had free roast pork, chili, macaroni salad and other picnic items along with free tastings and super case prices on their excellent wines! They are our favorite winery in the area both for their wines and their hospitality but they are a bit rustic compared to the upscale Maryhill. Both have won numerous awards and Maryhill has been WA winery of the year more than once! The last time we went to The Dalles was to celebrate my wife's birthday in early August a couple of years ago and we stayed on a living social wine special that included a bottle of wine and a view room. No breakfast! This time I went with TA no 3 which I would rate no 1, admittedly not having stayed at no 1. We were in 425 top floor with a view in a bigger and nicer room than at the Celilo with a nice breakfast at a cheaper cost with the best hospitality! Tip: Book direct and ask for AAA or other discounts like AARP and save 10 per cent off all the internet rates and they will honor your room requests if they can too! Request an upper floor facing the river, third or preferably fourth and center of building so not too close to elevator. Burgerville right across street from them and nice flat bicycling area with nice river front bike and walking path a few blocks away toward the River and beautiful old homes within walking distance that are historic. When we go back to the Dalles next time we will be staying here! Don't go to Cliff Cellars winery on the Wa side between Maryhill and Marshall's but be sure to visit both of them and a few more if you have the time and ability! A great trip made exceptional thanks to The Dalles Inn a historic hotel restored with a heart and a truly outstanding and hospitable staff!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sexybaby7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

I was excited to stay here after reading all the positive reviews. There were multiple long black hairs between the sheets in one bed and dime sized dark marks on the sheets in the other bed. The shower had a multi use dispenser for soap, not exactly the most hygienic choice. The bathroom sink was cracked. The only upside: the dog bowls and dog treats that were waiting in our room.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank nicki_wicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDallesInnManager, General Manager at The Dalles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

We are very sorry for your disappointment. We truly strive for giving our guests a satisfactory stay. We appreciate any ideas to improve. Thank you, and hopefully you'll give us another shot to give you the service and stay you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews