We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disgusting & dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oregon Motor Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 The Dalles B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusting & dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed in this motel last weekend. We booked through motel.com. It was the worst motel we ever stayed in. You could smell the mold in the room. The carpet was wet near the small bathroom. The shower (very small) didn't drain, so we requested another room. It also had a awful smell of mold. The clerk in the office didn't speak english well. The only reason we stayed was because the 24 hr cancellation. Take my advice and stay next door @ the Best Western or sleep in the car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Room 108 leaked from 2nd story. Room 106 awful odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. I understand that you did book through hotels.com and their cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to the date of arrival. I understand that this is frustrating and we receive this complaint often (when guest's book through a third party). We highly suggest that guests contact the hotel directly to receive the best possible customer service. During your stay we had an unfortunate incident that made it difficult for us from providing you with the best possible service and room. We truly apologize for that. We hope that you will allow us to make up for the your experience when you come back to visit The Dalles. We have recently renovated our rooms and fixed the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your response and we hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    16
    19
    16
See reviews for
13
26
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

5/27/2012 stay. room a little dated but clean. Fridge, Micro, Coffe, Internet, TV non smoking

Room Tip: Rooms next to check in are quiet. Parking is a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carjar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review! It makes our family's day when we hear such great compliments about our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing extremely clean rooms and the best prices at the Oregon Motor Motel in The Dalles, Or. We look forward to your next visit! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The room was very reasonbly priced! The room was simple, but is very nice and clean. The customer service was nice and freindly. Over all I had a good experience, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for the kind words, it really means a lot to our family. We are excited to hear that you noticed the cleanliness. We take pride in providing clean rooms and the best possible customer service in the area. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallesport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife & I had a nice experience this weekend at Oregon Motor Motel. Our room was clean and there was plenty of fresh towels and toiletries. At night we enjoyed our cold pop in the fridge and made popcorn in the microwave. The staff is very responsive, I phoned the office & asked the Mgr if our room could be serviced at 10:30am since we were taking an early lunch - a staff rep was at our room at 10:30am sharp - when we returned the room was vacuumed, bathroom re-supplied, towels replaced, garbage removed and new plastic inserts in waste baskets. During your stay, don't hesitate to call on the staff when needed - you'll be pleasantly surprised on how prompt & responsive they handle your needs. Being comfortable, and receiving prompt service, made for a memorable stay - if those things are important to you, you will not be disappointed. I'd recommend this motel to family & friends - it's the best value in the city!

Room Tip: Ground floor is more convienent but second floor rooms would appear to have less traffic and would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your candid review! Great feedback is extremely valuable to us and our future guests. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that our hard work hasn't gone unnoticed. Thank you for making our day! Your recommendation is the greatest gift our team can receive. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The property is very old, hence you understandably get a very different impression from the other local properties. The rooms are dark and the bathrooms are small but from my previous stays at this motel (which have been plenty), I have noticed that they have done quite a bit of upgrading, such as new bedding, new furniture, coffee is now available in the rooms, and they've upgraded their lock system. The rooms are not five star quality, but they are decent and worth it for the location. The gorge is one of the most spectacular locations I have ever been to, and considering this motel is located downtown, very close to the river and various dining facilities, I'd say it's a honest deal.
From my interactions with the manager, my first impression was definitely that were rude, but once I got to talk to them more, I found out they are actually very talkative and friendly. They're very helpful, but you just have to treat them with respect and you'll get it back. My overall experiences during my stays have been enjoyable. It's worth a shot if you're in the area because it is one of the cheapest and location wise, one of the best motels in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Dalles hotels
0.1 km away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Motel 6 The Dalles
Motel 6 The Dalles
#7 of 9 in The Dalles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.4 km away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.0 km away
Super 8 The Dalles OR
Super 8 The Dalles OR
#6 of 9 in The Dalles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Motor Motel

Property: Oregon Motor Motel
Address: 200 W. 2nd St., The Dalles, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in The Dalles
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,685 - ₹ 5,255
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Motor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oregon Motor Motel in The Dalles, Oregon. Your favorite 54 unit Oregon Motel is located within easy walking distance of the Greyhound bus station, St. Peters Church, and historic Downtown. Our friendly office staff can help direct you to all the area attractions and activities. Restaurant, gas station. We offer a variety of clean and comfortable rooms in many sizes with queen and king size beds. Our building is made of concrete that makes our rooms very quiet and all our rooms have a Wi-Fi, Cable TV, microwave and refrigerator. We provide both smoking and non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oregon Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing