We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed overnight on June 22 on our way from Reno to Seattle. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient.

The hotel has easy on/off access to the freeway, a gas station next door, an excellent restaurant, and allows pets. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms, however, smoking is allowed on the deck outside the rooms.

Our room on the bottom floor, faced the pool with a view of the river and dam. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Our only negatives were the AC was very loud making it difficult to sleep, and there were no drinking glasses in our room on arrival.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E&CinReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear E&CinReno,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay with us at The Dalles Shilo Inns, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Heather B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our room was small for the price. Wished we would have asked for a room with a view of the dam and not the parking lot. We could hear the noise from the freeway which was close by. The room was clean and comfortable other than the noise of the freeway.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Skypay,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. The room type that you were in is our standard room; however we do have different room types, many of which have views of our outdoor pool area and The Dalles Dam. We look forward to having you come back and stay in one of our view rooms.

Thank you
Heather Baker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

From the deck of Room 215 is a full-frontal of the The Dalles dam! Lights at night. Roar of the spillways! This room is best probably the best in the Pacific Northwest for dam hunters. The Shilo people treated us well, gave us a free breakfast and everything worked just fine. But the thunderous roaring sounds of that river through the screened open deck door all night long was worth thrice the price of admission!

Room Tip: 215 for the dam, just don't rent it out from under me on Memorial Day Weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear WatertonSeattle,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inns. We appreciate your positive comment and I will share your comment with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Thank you,

Heather Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I'm a budget traveler, but had business in the Dalles and needed a place to stay. This budget room was clean, quiet, neither had nor needed a view, cointained adequate plug ins for my computer, a big table, good lighting and friendly service. I made my reservation by phone and was given a room right next to the door--something a bad hip made necessary--with a price that matched online reservation prices. The free breakfast gave four choices and mine--eggs, pancake, fruit and milk--was excellent. The view of the Dalles dam from the dining room was gorgeous. I would stay there again for a one night stayover, but would seek a more distant, less expensive motel, if I needed to stay longer in the general area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyWAStateUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 5/9-5/11 2012. It is the best hotel near the dam on the Columbia River. The view from our room was amazing. The facilities were clean, but dated. Free breakfast was included in the hotel rate, though $75 on priceline seemed a little high for the quality of hotel. There is a "fitness" room, but this consisted of an eliptical machine, treadmill and stationary bike arranged around a broken jacuzzi. We were told it was under construction, but it did not look like any active construction was being done. Additionally, the sign said that the fitness room was open from 7 am to 10 pm, but I arrived at 7:15 am and it was not open. I had to find a maintenance worker to open it for me. I would have run along the Columbia River, but we were on a tight schedule with family in The Dalles and needed to be close by in case plans changed.
There is a great gym (Water's Edge) with a view of the river next to this hotel - a free pass there for hotel guests would have been great

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear sstayner,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, comments are always appreciated so the we may address any concerns our customer may have. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the fitness room not being unlocked when it should have been; and the spa has been down for repairs however it will be operational next week. I do hope that you will consider us again when visiting The Dalles

General Manager
Heather Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
298 reviews
3.8 km away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
528 reviews
5.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
29 reviews
30.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.6 km away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058-9718
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: ₹ 5,650 - ₹ 8,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing