We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality remodel, nice stay”
Review of Dossier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dossier
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Westin Portland is in a nice location just off of Broadway in downtown. It's close to most things. They have completed a serious remodel in the past year. The rooms feel brighter and lighter, with more modern amenities. The typical Westin Shower and Bed are still there to be enjoyed. The lobby has had a nice up-do as well. The entrance to the daily grill is much more lush and modern, giving it an open feel. The service has always been delightful and remains that way, from the front desk to the valet. The only piece of the hotel that wasn't upgraded was the gym, which is a minor bummer. The gym is ok to begin with, but it could use more space and a spot to stretch out some. All in all, this is a very nice option for Portland and better after the remodel. The prices are usually quite good and it's a nice value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 855 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Westin in downtown Portland for a little getaway to celebrate our anniversary. I spoke to the front desk manager, Daniel Kahn, to coordinate setting up special decorations (i.e champagne, rose petals, basket of delicious goodies) for my husband as a surprise. Not only did he and his staff do an amazing job arranging what I requested, but they were able to capture the special moment I wanted to create for my husband when he saw it all in the room.

I am beyond pleased with the overall customer care of this hotel! In addition to phenomenal customer service, the hotel is just gorgeous. We had a corner room on a high floor. The lobby is very well appointed with the bar and grill immediately off to the side. The bar area has iPads for use right at the counter while you enjoy your drinks and appetizers. The location is perfect for walking to various restaurants and shopping. The trade marked term "Heavenly" by Westin is a fitting description of the entire experience. We will certainly be returning back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you love upscale hotels in central locations, you'll be hard pressed to find anything better, bargain wise, than the newly refurbished Westin Portland. We stayed a couple nights and loved it. It has one of the nicer hotel bars/bistros in town, and I loved that it is a mere block from the Max transit line that takes you to and from the airport. Front desk staff were always attentive and happy to answer any questions we had. My one complaint is the $12/day fee for using the hotel's wireless. Really, when customers are paying good money for rooms, does it really help the property's PR cause to ding them 12 bucks for what, in this tech day and age, should be a given in every hotel? Otherwise, this is a great hotel in one of my favorite cities in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayfarer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

It was raining and cold when I arrived at the hotel but I was soon uplifted by the wonderful people at check-in who made a point of giving me the kind of room I asked for, away from elevators, ice machines and on the quiet side of the hotel. It was blissfully peaceful, although no view (it was gray and rainy anyway...who cares?) The tradeoff was that my cell phone didn't work in my sequestered room so I had to go down to the lobby to make my calls...fine with me. The bed was uber comfy and the huge bathroom was not to be believed...large marble glassed in shower AND a separate soaking tub! Within a few blocks of everything--theatres, Powell's, Pearl district, department stores, restaurants. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sari1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Westin Portland for one night in early April 2012. We were visiting the Portland area for a wedding and wanted to experience a taste of downtown.

The Westin completely met our expectations: excellent service [we checked in several hours early without a problem], exceptionally clean facilities and luxury bedding. Although the room was on the small side, we had a very comfortable and quiet night’s stay, which was perfect after a busy day of sightseeing.

The hotel has a great location downtown. It is centrally located and close to the food carts. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance [check out the Pearl District], and street parking is easy.

My only complaints about the hotel were monetary. While the price of the room was reasonable, the price to park with the hotel overnight was excessive. We parked our car in a lot around the corner for less than half of the Westin price. In addition, there was a daily charge for wifi, which seemed odd. It is usually a complimentary feature of competing hotels.

Guests should note there is no pool [we did not have time to miss it].

Overall, we had a very easy stay. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who want a standard hotel experience and a comfortable, restful night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dossier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dossier

Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly Westin Portland)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 10,678 - ₹ 23,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dossier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dossier, Portland’s leading edge of thoughtfulness, elegance, and grace. A place where the enduring comforts of refined hospitality are elevated to something delightfully modern and altogether new. From the staff that discreetly serves you, to the bed you’ll sleep soundly upon, every experience here is designed to be surprising, rewarding, and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dossier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing