We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Restful Stay”
Review of Dossier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dossier
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Restful Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Westin Portland for one night in early April 2012. We were visiting the Portland area for a wedding and wanted to experience a taste of downtown.

The Westin completely met our expectations: excellent service [we checked in several hours early without a problem], exceptionally clean facilities and luxury bedding. Although the room was on the small side, we had a very comfortable and quiet night’s stay, which was perfect after a busy day of sightseeing.

The hotel has a great location downtown. It is centrally located and close to the food carts. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance [check out the Pearl District], and street parking is easy.

My only complaints about the hotel were monetary. While the price of the room was reasonable, the price to park with the hotel overnight was excessive. We parked our car in a lot around the corner for less than half of the Westin price. In addition, there was a daily charge for wifi, which seemed odd. It is usually a complimentary feature of competing hotels.

Guests should note there is no pool [we did not have time to miss it].

Overall, we had a very easy stay. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who want a standard hotel experience and a comfortable, restful night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    317
    72
    33
    21
See reviews for
155
350
50
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Most of my reviews tend to be fairly generous because I always factor in the value proposition. I have stayed at the Westin a few times now and always find good deals. Combined with the prices I get, the location, facilities, and service level always leave me feeling like I got what I paid for and better. Their pet amenities are great, the staff friendly, and the hotel is centrally located. I couldn't really ask for more for a trip to Portland, given that it's not a destination where I am typically looking to splurge on something over the top. Always my first choice when I am in the Portland area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at the Westin for a conference in PDX because the rooms at the Hilton were sold out.

What I liked:
-Beds were very comfy.
-A couple of blocks from the conference hotel.
-A block from the food carts.
-A gym with free weights! They also had a station for lat pull downs, pull ups, etc; 3 treadmills, 2 ellipticals and a low bike. There were also 3 stability balls and several yoga mats.

What I didn't like:
-The comforter was filthy. The top cover of the bed had a really long pube and there was blood on the cover. There was no duvet at all, just the bare comforter.
-Wifi was not included and ran at a rate of $12/day.
-No outlets next to the bed! Had to charge my phone at the desk across the room.
-Bad cell phone reception in the rooms.
-No pool! (The Hilton has two!)

The beds were almost comfy enough to make up for all of these other flaws, but I wish there was room at the Hilton.

Room Tip: No reception on the side that faces the street carts, try another spot?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Being a loyal SPG member I chose to stay at the Westin in Portland during a recent weekend away in Portland. The hotel met every expectation of a Westin property, although it does not have a pool. Lobby bar was a great meeting point for our group of friends and we spent a good amount of time there in between enjoying all that Portland has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Overall very nice, clean hotel in a good part of downtown. The rooms could be bigger. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universalmgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 142 in Portland
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dossier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dossier

Property: Dossier
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly Westin Portland)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,278 - ₹ 32,482
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dossier, Portland’s leading edge of thoughtfulness, elegance, and grace. A place where the enduring comforts of refined hospitality are elevated to something delightfully modern and altogether new. From the staff that discreetly serves you, to the bed you’ll sleep soundly upon, every experience here is designed to be surprising, rewarding, and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dossier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing