We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Taste of Portland”
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A True Taste of Portland”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We spent a fantastic but quick weekend in Portland. Jupiter was a Superb location for this particular trip. However, I think staying at the Jupiter as many Pros and Cons.

The Good:
- Cute Arty Rooms, Comfy bed! (go for the Metro room, as the studio small is supa small.)
- Super Star Hotel Staff! Friendly, Helpful, and Knowledgeable of Portland Happenings.
- Great Lounge/Restaurant: Douglas Fir is located on the same property.
- Voodoo Deal Coupon. So cool to get a voodoo donuts coupon with our stay! Yum!
- Location, Location, Location. Quick cab or bike to everything.
- Live Music onsite, good stuff! Enjoy the music and drinks then walk over to your room - no driving! No fuss.
- Very fun to make simon chalk drawlings on your own door, I had fun with that feature. haha.
- Bikes on site

The Bad:
- It is a old motel and our room fixtures, although they were modern and cool were already showing wear and tear since this remodel to the Jupiter. The toilet seat cover was already worn.. I'm sure it's not much to change that out, so it was a few small scuffs about the room that think can be easily fixed and would improve the room we were in.
- Thin Walls. You hear everything inside and outside!
- We already stayed up as late as the music, enjoying it as well, so no issue with band noise. What amazed me, however, was the level that some of the patrons could party on.. Maybe it was a fluke but I heard partying at like 5:30am both nights and I def am too old to hang with that kind of racket. Wow, 2am is fine for me.. 5:30am.. not as much!

I highly recommend this hotel for a quick overnight in Portland or stay for a night to catch a show then party with the best of em. I should of guessed when they advertise at midnight rooms are offered at a discount rate if they still have openings. Good Times and maybe will even try again!

Room Tip: Skip the small size and try the Metro Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    181
    101
    64
    68
See reviews for
40
210
53
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Cool little spot. If all you're looking for is a bed to sleep in, the basic room is comfy and cozy. Cute detail: the outside of your hotel room door is a chalkboard :) Convenient parking. They rent out bikes - which is the BEST way to see/experience Portland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you want to experience Portland's uniqueness, I would recommend this hotel. You get a taste of Portland hospitality and culture here. This hotel has a quiet side and a side closer to their onsite bar if you are in the mood to have a couple of cocktails. Very convenient because then you don't have to drive. Some of the cool things about this hotel are the artsy rooms. The door to each room has a chalkboard and provided chalk so you can make your room your own. They have very comfortable beds and pillows. We really liked it even though it was a bit small. There is also an atrium area in the midst of the property to relax and read a book or share some coffee. The rooms don't have a coffee maker, but they provide coffee at the front desk every morning. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask to be on the "chill" side of the property, if you like to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckley_girl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
202 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I am all over the board on the Jupiter Hotel-

Pros-
Staff, Staff, Staff!
Great location for my purpose
Clean

Cons-
Live (LOUD) music right outside our door.
Shower temperature had a mind of its' own.
Small room that needed a different layout.

After reading other reviews, we paid a little extra to be away from the bar (and we thought the noise) but what we didn't realize is there is a tent that appears to be a permanent fixture in the courtyard that hosts partys! Unfortunately our first night at the Jupiter we were 'treated' to a live techno-band about three feet from our window. The earplugs provided did not help. Thank goodness there was only a band one of the nights we were there.

While having a small room is not usually a big deal, the way this room was layed out, if someone was sitting at the desk (which many times my partner was) and I wanted to get to the bathroom, I either had to ask him to move or what I usually did was walk over the top of the bed.

Our shower seemed to have a mind of its own...going from just right to scalding...I would do a quick adjustment and then suddenly it was too cold and this had nothing to do with us using the toilet or the sink. We did report this to the front desk on the second day and they said they would report it but when we left on day five there hadn't been any change.

On a positive note, the staff was AMAZING. We dealt with many different folks with questions about the area, walking directions, buses, bike rentals, restaurant recommendations...you name it, we asked and they were terrific. The staff was always cheerful, helpful and very genuine. We had some great meals based on their recommendations and shared some fun conversations with them. They had obviously had some great training as I have never encountered a place where ALL the staff was so positive and helpful.

Our room was neat, clean and the hotel was in a great location for our destination and was in walking distance to many unbelievably inexpensive yet topnotch restaurants.

Room Tip: I suspect staying during the week you would be spared from loud bands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockingGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My partner and I made an impromptu, midweek trip down from Seattle and decided to stay at the Jupiter per a work referral AND a friend who'd previously stayed. Despite some reviews we'd seen regarding noisiness, we experienced none of this. We slept soundly for both nights we were there. The staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were minimilast/retro style; housekeeping did an immacate job; the hotel's location is excellent. I work in the hotel industry and definitely plan to refer guests, and friends alike, to the Jupiter for their Portland travels.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
DB
Thanks for review.
Am glad tat the staff was attentive and that the hotel exceeded your expectations.
See you next time you are in PDX.

AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
372 reviews
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 141 in Portland
328 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#40 of 141 in Portland
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Property: Jupiter Hotel
Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1221 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,755 - ₹ 24,225
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Water Avenue organic coffee every morning in the lobby, bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing