We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
$141
View deal
Priceline$196
Hotels.com$142
Travelocity$142
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,281)
Filter reviews
3,282 results
Traveller rating
2,168
776
207
77
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,168
776
207
77
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl great location powell's books continental breakfast whole foods wine reception underground parking walking distance older hotel two blocks full kitchen living room public transportation would definitely stay here again front desk staff visit portland bed was very comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 3,282 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2022

The friendly staff went above and beyond to assist us. Great location, clean quiet room, onsite underground parking, and a kitchenette. We couldn’t have asked for a better hotel experience. I will definitely be staying here again when I travel to Portland.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spammusubi2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2022

At Mark Spencer Hotel, going above and beyond is what we do best! Thank you so much for making our day with your positive review. From our prime location to our comfy, well-appointed rooms and gracious staff, you can always count on us to meet your needs. Come back anytime!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

I loved this hotel! Spacious and meticulously decorated rooms. Beds were so comfortable! Highly recommend this spot! Great downtown location and accessible overnight underground parking. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2022

Angela,
There are plenty of reasons to enjoy a visit to Mark Spencer Hotel. To hear that our prime location and beautiful rooms were some of yours is music to our ears. Thank you so much for the recommendation. We can't wait to welcome you back again on your next visit to Portland.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022

The location can't be beat -- just steps away from Powell's Bookstore, Deschute's Brewery and tons of good options for food. Our room was clean and confortable, the bathroom was well-appointed, and while we didn't try any of the grab & go breakfast options, we appreciated the fact that they were inexpensive (cheaper than Starbucks). The garage parking is a bit nerve-wracking -- lots of tight corners and tiny spaces hemmed in by pillars -- but it was nice to have the option and not have to deal with street parking.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank j0neskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we’re elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our comfortable accommodations and excellent value and are pleased that this was reflected in your experience. Should your travels bring you back to the area in the future, we hope you'll consider staying with us again!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022

Great, friendly and helpful staff. Clean, remodeled and beautifully decorated room. Beautiful hotel inside and out. Location is perfect for exploring Portland. Powells City of Books is one block away! We will stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 9nk7v7jwpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Wow! What a review! We can't thank you enough for spending time with us at Mark Spencer Hotel. As you noted, we have so much here to enjoy, and we trust we've given you plenty of reasons to return. From our prime location and wonderful staff to our beautiful, remodeled rooms, count on us again when you return to Portland!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022

Everything was great but the The The hotel was great, but the homeless people outside made me wonder if it was safe to walk around in the neighborhood other than that it was fine. It was also great that they provided parking but it was a bit tight going up and down in the car because of the narrow driveways and ramps.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shepherddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Darren,
Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with us! That being said, please know we value the safety of our guests and their property above all else and ensure a secure environment on our property. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back again!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews