We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveller rating
1,479
268
72
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,479
268
72
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews willamette river degrees restaurant river place rocking chairs athletic club a river view room the river walk wine hour complimentary wine valet staff beautiful room close to downtown wonderful hotel valet parking the entire staff happy hour full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We booked RiverPlace for our last night of vacation in Oregon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our spacious room with a king size bed overlooked joggers and walkers below, boaters sailing and boats docked on the Willamette River, cars and trucks traveling the Markham Bridge, and a peak at Mt Hood beyond.
The room itself was located away from nightlife and any hint of noisy neighbors; we found the room easy to fall asleep in; we did wake up to train horns a couple times in the middle of the night, but we were able to get back to sleep, maybe because the bedding was so luxurious!
We enjoyed being close enough to downtown that we could walk to the restaurant we had booked, and close enough to the Willamette River to be able to enjoy a stroll along the pedestrian walkway. We found the area in front of and to the south of RiverPlace much more conducive to walking without being barraged by skateboarders or homeless people than the area north of it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and liked looking out to the joggers and bicyclists on the path below and the early morning paddlers on the Willamette. The recreational activities just outside the hotel made us wistful and wanting a second day.
The room rate, valet parking, and extra cost for breakfast certainly makes this a higher end lodge stay, but it's definitely worth it. We'll be back. Highly recommended for a 'best of' Portland experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Willamette River are best
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney B, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

I can't ask for a better review than this. You had one of those true RiverPlace Hotel experiences that so many write about. Thanks for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We chose to stay at the RiverPlace hotel a second time and we don't think we'll stay anywhere else during our visits to Portland. Great staff, great restaurant on site (Three Degrees) and beautiful rooms. Thank you to RiverPlace for another great stay!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dee8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney B, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

It doesn't get much better than this! Thank you for choosing the RiverPlace Hotel as your home away from home when in Portland. It's our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the next opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Was in Portland recently for a weekend and wanted a nice hotel situated in downtown Portland and the RiverPalace did not disappoint. It sits right on the riverfront and it has easy access to any of the activities you'd want to do in Portland. The room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. From the moment I checked in the staff was very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the restaurant or drink at the bar. I will definitely stay at the RiverPalace next time I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney B, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Eric - thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to providing another fabulous stay on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was our second stay at the Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel. We moved our daughter in to Portland State University as well as celebrated a big birthday for me! The view we had was of the river, and our room type was an executive suite. The amount of space we had was wonderful since we had a car load of things for our daughter's dorm room. Service is wonderful at this property as well as the on site restaurant, 3 Degrees. There is a nice walk in front of the hotel with other shops and restaurants nearby. It was also really easy to walk to downtown restaurants. The welcome amenities left for us as a birthday treat were certainly welcomed.

Room Tip: River views are wonderful!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GreekamericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney B, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

There's hardly a better place for celebrations. We're glad you decided to enjoy your birthday here at the RiverPlace. Best of luck to your daughter and we'll hopefully see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, clean hotel situated right on the river. Dog friendly hotel (no extra cost). Very friendly staff.

Our plane landed early so we checked-in to the hotel, dropped off our suitcases and walked the town. This hotel is perfect location to downtown, the farmers market and pretty much anything you would want to do or see.

If you can, I would encourage paying the extra to secure a river front room. The view is gorgeous and such a pleasant way to wake up each morning.

We drank at the bar at night but did not eat in the restaurant.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Thank you Chanel. I agree, the Riverfront rooms are definitely worth the expense. There's nothing better than waking up and having the beautiful Willamette right outside the window. I appreciate you sharing your experience here and hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews