We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine for short stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed at this LaQuinta many times as it is very convenient to the Rose Garden arena, convention center, and the MAX line (it's only a few minutes ride to downtown Portland). Parking is free and the breakfast does the job, so we find it to be a great deal.

In the past we have noticed a mildewy odor that has been noted in previous reports, and it was with a little trepidation that I booked it but it was only $71 and we needed it for just one night. Turned out the odor is gone and while the motel doesn't look like much from the outside, the service was great and the room was fine. The bed was soft but comfortable and the rest of the room was clean and comfortable. The toilet and shower are separate from the vanity (something I always like) but the shower is very small (I think we've had other rooms with a larger shower/rub but can't quite remember). Wireless internet is good but one must get a password from the desk. Parking is in the outside courtyard area and underground and we did notice a security guard in the parking area when we returned about 10:00 pm.

Breakfast was good with waffles, biscuits, gravy, cereals, bagels, toast, apples, and hard-boiled eggs, and is available 6:30, Mon-Fri, and 7:00 Sat/Sun.

If traffic noise bothers you, request a room on the north or south side. Our room faced the parking courtyard (south side) and with the window closed we heard no noise at all. Rooms on the east and west side are on the busy boulevard but they do quiet down at night.

All in all we find it a good deal and for the location and price, can't be beat. Other hotels in the area are much more expensive and parking is extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south or north side for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    73
    93
    39
    45
See reviews for
60
73
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've been a fan of the La Quinta chain and look for a La Quinta property when I travel. I've stayed in about 10 of them across the country, but this stay will likely make me change my mind. Up to now, I considered LQ a reliable medium-level chain, not quite up to Marriott Courtyard or Hampton Inn, but definitely above Motel 6 or Comfort Inn. Now I'm not so sure.

At a mid-rate lodging, I don't expect luxury and frills, but I do expect cleanliness and a good night's sleep. The Portland Convention Center La Quinta fell short on both accounts. There was too much noise, not from outside, but from other rooms, for me to sleep without ear plugs. One night a couple in the next room was talking after midnight. Their voices weren't any louder than normal but we could hear every word, as if they were in the room with us. The next night, a gentleman in the other room was coughing incessantly. This was very audible as well. In addition, every time someone took a step in the room above, that was clearly heard through the ceiling.

Beyond that, compared to other LQs, this place was shabby. There was a tear in the bed skirt, nicks in the furniture and the place definitely needed painting. Worse was the bathroom. I don't know what the brown material was on the shower head and in the bathtub--after the room was cleaned--but it sure didn't look good (pictures attached.)

Also, the housekeeper (a male, we saw him in the hall) not only failed to replace the coffee in the room, he took the mugs and didn't replace them

A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzcat_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at the La Quinta while attending the Jail Conference in 2010 room was clean and comfortable. Convention Center was well within walking distance. Starbucks along the way was an added bonus! Red Robin across the street was an evening wind down for us. Breakfast was good, bisquits and gravy was really good. Staff was helpful and cheerful. Nothing to really complain about would recommend this place is worth the savings!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatgirl661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoomer56
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great customer service at this hotel located near Portland's Link rail line. Caught the Amtrak from Seattle and then the Link two blocks from hotel. Link is free within certain areas of city. Any problem I had with room was resolved in an adequate manner. Free breakfast was sustaining enough and the ac worked. Shopping mall, theaters and Safeway within healthy walking distance or you can ride the city bus (fee). Various eating establishments in immediate area. Portland is a very pedestrian friendly city and worked to our advantage. Best of all, it was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. We were two younger senior citizen females traveling and felt safe in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyBoomer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Looking at the pictures before we arrived at this La Quinta we were a little scared just because it is an older hotel. But, the second we stepped in the lobby we were treated like family. It was a wonderful feeling and made me and my husband feel completely at home. The staff here at the hotel go the complete extra mile to help each one of there guest, the FREE breakfast was awesome, the location was really good and FREE Wi-Fi! We payed a good price at this La Quinta better then the other one's we stay at. When we come back to Portland theres no doubt we are staying here! People need to realize how hard that staff works to keep us happy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#74 of 142 in Portland
334 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.2 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,676 - ₹ 15,021
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing