We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hostels I've been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice place with some great little additions like free bread and pastries from a local Bakery and little towels to dry your hands with, nice communal areas and staff. Organise some good trips, I went on a walk to some waterfalls with a local guide which was interesting and great value. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HodgesPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

The picture attached is one of 3 houses attached to the newly completed hostel that has its own cafe attached to the buildings. The hostel is located close to public transportation and you have easy access to pubs and food nearby. They also have activities that are run by volunteers which can help you explore the city. The hostel offers bagel and coffee for free or $3 off any menu item. The facilities are clean and offer a kitchen/fridge/lockers/laundry facilities (does cost for doing laundry). Plus you can meet people from all over the world who are traveling

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

This Hostel/Guesthouse offers a range of rooms. I stayed in a small private room with a single twin bed. It was clean, comfortable, and no frills. The shared bathrooms were also private/single use with locks, so it felt like staying at a private residence. Towels are included.

It is located near popular shopping and restaurant areas. Very little wait for an Uber and walking distance from the train.

I highly recommend for the value!

I was only there one night, but if I had stayed longer, I might have participated in the regular group activities they have planned during the week.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Angellocks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 3 nights. Good private setup - much prefer 2 bunks end to end rather than 2 bunks next to each other where you can stare into your bunk neighbours eyes upon waking up. Breakfast was regulated with 1 bagel and coffee/tea/juice + 1 refill. On site bar/cafe, but you were also able to drink your own alcohol in the courtyard out back. There were crates of free baked goods in the kitchen one day (pastries, breads etc) which may be a regular thing. Quiet and clean place to stay, one of the better hostels in the US.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank melakay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

After hosteling for over two decades, I can say with assurance that this was one of my more pleasant experiences. I stayed in a private room and, overall, it was not exactly a classic hostel experience -- I didn't strip my own bed and take my linens to a communal laundry basket upon check-out. My room consisted of a wonderfully comfortable bed positioned right by a second floor window that looked out through tree branches onto a scenic vista. I woke early every morning to observe the sunrise. Simply lovely! Room also contained a desk, a floor lamp, a chair, and a small bedside table. The rooms on our floor shared three bathrooms.

Upon check-in, I received vouchers for a free breakfast beverage and a bagel. Hostel guests have their own lounge and outdoor courtyard in which to eat, relax, and one night even enjoy a small concert. The hostel cafe also serves lunch and dinner. They make a mean hamburger.

The hostel is within walking distance (about 10 minutes at my pace) from the red MAX train line, up a gentle hill. There is a Trader Joe's not too far away if you run out of supplies (the front desk stocks travel size toiletries at rock bottom prices) and the Mission Cinema is just down the street. $4 movies cannot be beat.

I need to mention how absolutely lovely and helpful every single person working the desk was. Usually at hostels, one encounters at least one grumpy front desk staffer, but not this place. You all deserve a gold star.

Room Tip: Private room on 2nd floor over the front door not good for light sleepers or those who wish to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,590 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#51 of 144 in Portland
739 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Address: 425 NW 18th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2217
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 2,215 - ₹ 7,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing