We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Classy bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed three nights and very much enjoyed the accommodations. Breakfast was different every day, but all three were excellent. We had French Toast, Huevos Rancheros and fruit covered waffles on different mornings. Steve and Kim were very friendly and attentive, Someone spent a lot of money on the furniture and fixtures. We enjoyed walking around and looking at all the pieces. Best of all were the fresh oatmeal cookies that we found in our room each day. No leftovers there. The location is near Broadway, which is a major traffic artery. Getting around Portland is pretty easy when you start from here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAJumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
274
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I participated in one of the great parties I have been to in a long time. Steve and Kim from The White House put on a Mystery Party called Murder At The Juice Joint. Everyone dressed to character, acted their parts, ate great food and simply had a blast. We stayed the night and woke to the wonderful breakfast that The White House serves. The White House is a great location to stay, has awesome rooms and superior service - a great getaway no mater what the occasion. We make it our regular spot and certainly won't miss their next mystery party.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlebites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

During a recent road trip to the bay area I decided to try inns and B&B's that were part of the "Unique Inns" group and The White House was my first.

It's located in a great area of Portland with classic heritage mansions everywhere. I enjoyed my king room and all the yummy treats as well as the great breakfast. I'll return for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms looked great but I loved the one with the little balcony over the portico. Can you say Wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I like to have "romantic getaways" in the very City in which we live...so we chose Portland's White House for a Friday night! EVERYTHING was perfect! The ambiance, flexibility of check-in time, location.... The owner (Lanning) was so helpful, accommodating, charming, not to mention a GREAT cook and "host!" The LARGE, delectable cookies that awaited us in our room were gobbled up and cherished! We would SO recommend this B&B for ANY occasion! OH, the king size Down pillows were HEAVEN!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Carriage House" in the Chauffeurs Quarters and it was so easy to access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurdieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

For my wife's birthday we stayed at the Portland White House and this is the penultimate in B&Bs. The house is luxurious and gorgeous inside and out and the hosts put on a breakfast feast that was fantastic. I had been in touch with them several times over the preceding weeks to tailor the visit specifically to my wife's tastes and they performed marvellously. They had a special flower arrangement prepared for her to a tee of what I had described and they had a special bottle of Champagne chilled and awaiting her arrival. I can not say enough about the efforts that the owners are willing to expend in order to accomodate and please their guests. If you enjoy B&Bs, then you must take the trek to for this experience. You will not be disappointed, except possibly in other B&Bs which follow.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite directly over the entrance and enjoy a glass of champagne on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85CXPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,027 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,172 - ₹ 9,632
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing