We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An okay stay for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #21 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An okay stay for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We needed a place not too far from our daughter's on Sandy Blvd. The lobby is very nicely done and the room was comfortable. Our room had a recliner type chair by the TV, which made my husband happy. The room faced the pool which was quieter than the street. The bed was comfortable. We do NOT recommend the continental breakfast unless you just want cereal or yogurt and toast. The eggs looked like there were made from dry powder and reheated. Ugh! Wish we'd gone next door to Elmer's instead. Also, our daughter warned us not to leave anything in the car we didn't mind loosing as apparently there is a big problem with theft in Portland. We noticed hotel staff putting up new signs in the parking lot as we were leaving disclaiming any responsibility for lost items or damaged vehicles. :-( So, I guess you need to empty the car and take it all into the room!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool may be quieter, except in the summer when the pool is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jxnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    307
    71
    32
    14
See reviews for
294
321
77
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

stayed 1 night. Can't praise the staff enough: friendly, helpful, & professional.

Room (facing Sandy Blvd) was adequate, but traffic sounds seeped into room all night. (Management is clearly alert to this fact as earplugs are part of the kit in each room.)

Maybe room on other side might be quieter.

Breakfast was very light continental-style, served in a pleasant area near the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We flew into PDX over the Thanksgiving holiday and knew that our flight would be getting in around midnight so we emailed in our reservation comments that we would need a shuttle to the hotel around midnight. The day of our flight we recieved an email from the front desk staff person that they would not have a shuttle driver available at that time, but to go ahead and get a taxi to the hotel and they would pay for it. We were very surprised and pleased by the response and thanked the individual in person when we arrived at the hotel. They paid for the taxi as promised. We were very happy with our room (a king) on the first floor. It was clean and the bed was very comnfortable. The hot breakfast provided the next morning was very good too. This hotel has a nice quality about it and we would definitely stay here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertwriter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Located off of the 205 near Sandy Blvd, this Best Western delivers what you would expect from Best Western. It looks a little older but everything was clean and well maintained. The staff working reception were really nice and offered me a better price than my corporate rate would have gotten me. I got a nice, spacious room with a king bed. It was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. I was fairly close to an exit door and the stairs so you could hear people coming and going; but it wasn't anything that kept me from sleeping. Mini fridge, microwave, free wifi, continental breakfast, pool, workout room; all the things that Best Westerns offer, at least the ones I've been to). I would stay here again if I were on business. I don't know that I would if I were vacationing because there didn't seem to be much around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
444 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here two nights. The first night it was ok. On the second night, the thin walls, hollow ceilings and out door smoking meant talking and laughing guests at night. Note that this Best Western is located next to a Trailer Park--not a pretty sight. The hotel is just ok but I cannot recommend it to anyone due to the level of nosie made by the other guests.

Room Tip: Avoid as it gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
2.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#11 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,901 - ₹ 9,263
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing