We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Really 100% Authentic Thai”
Review of Thai Bloom NW

Thai Bloom NW
Ranked #110 of 4,649 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: Thai Bloom brings the beauty, exquisite cuisine, and warm hospitality from the "Land of Smiles" to the Portland metro area. Whether you come for a spirited Happy Hour or a comfortable meal with friends, family, or colleagues, you'll enjoy the quiet elegance of our bar and dining areas as you feast on wonderful food. We also provide catering, take-out, online ordering, and delivery services. Vegan and gluten-free options available. No MSG added. Free WiFi.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, we had a great meal at Thai Bloom. I asked for my duck curry to be prepared 'Thai hot'. It certainly packed a punch. The flavours were spot on. The menu is big. Especially if you factor in the 'happy hour' extras. Some of the dishes would be better placed on a Chinese or Indian menu. Also, some of the Thai dishes have either been adapted for the western palate or its due to the difficulty obtaining ingredients. (Lettuce anyone?).

The atmosphere felt a little like a fast food joint during happy hour. An influx of diners appearing, eating and leaving in a short space of time. We were also told that our dishes would be brought to the table in no particular order during this promotion even though we ordered off the main menu. Ironically, this is the norm in Thailand.

Having said all that, We would dine here again on a future visit to Portland.

Thank Kebablover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye C, Manager at Thai Bloom NW, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Thai Bloom! As for the authenticity aspect of the food, our menu consists of both fusion and authentic dishes and we also allow customizations to suit all of our customers' needs (vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free). If you are looking for an authentic dish for your next visit, I recommend Boat Noodle Soup, Beef Waterfall Salad, and Tom Yum soup.

We want you to know that we always strive to improve our customer experience at Thai Bloom and will take your feedback into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

All day on Sunday! Tasty food at great price! Great value. Was first person on the bar, but by the time I left it was full.

Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye C, Manager at Thai Bloom NW, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Thai Bloom! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed great Thai food and drinks at the happy hour of Thai Bloom NW. We had a Mai Tai with coconut rum and a Raspberry Slam, a Long Island tea with real raspberries in it. Both drinks were great and customer service was exemplary. We both enjoyed chicken satay and my wife enjoyed chicken pot stickers in ginger sauce and I had a very spicy dried shrimp with Thai chilis on vegetable leaves dish that would blow your socks off but was quite tasty and much more enjoyable after the first of the five and particularly when you took a bite without the Thai chili in it before devouring the rest! Try this place! It’s the best Thai food in Portland and will definitely make you want to Tai one on!

Thank sexybaby7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye C, Manager at Thai Bloom NW, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Great to hear! Thank you for your patronage at Thai Bloom! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Even though items had the V next to the dish, you could taste the fish sauce.
Companion thoroughly loved his meal and has been talking about it since.

Thank AdventuringPerthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye C, Manager at Thai Bloom NW, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

It took us a while to get back to you, but we at Thai Bloom! wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We want you to know that we always strive to improve our customer experience at Thai Bloom and will take your feedback into account. We do hope you give Thai Bloom another chance to provide you with the experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Fantastic evening at Thai Bloom. The crab and cream cheese wontons were incredible, especially once dipped in the plum sauce. We also enjoyed the Chicken Pad Prik, Prawn Panang Curry and the Drunken noodles. Portions were plentiful and the mains all included jasmine rice. The service was amazing we would definitely return time and time again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Bloom NW also viewed

 

Been to Thai Bloom NW? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing