We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple with Old Military Feel”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Portland
California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple with Old Military Feel”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the Ace in October 2011 during the Portland Marathon. It was great because we were in walking distance from starting and finish lines. The room was nice and very simple. We had a queen bed with desk and sink. We used the shared bathroom down the hall (about 2 doors down). The bathroom was surprisingly big and very clean! Our room was medium sized which was fine. We did not need a big room. Heater in the room was nice for the fall.

Breakfast is offered in a converted room on the 2nd floor (?) for about 8 bucks (can't remember the exact price) but it was yummy! Breakfast included an assortment of breads, cheeses, yogurt, fruits, coffee... and more. All you can eat!

There's a little area above the lobby surrounded by old knickknacks and filing cabinets where you can read and relax. There's a big table you can sit at.

In the lobby there is a photo booth for a fun souvenir and an attached coffee shop and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing a bathroom- save some money and get a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estrellas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    173
    71
    33
    28
See reviews for
47
182
57
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Ace Hotel Portland is a good place to stay once just to see it and say you've been there. I found the room quite small, yet the bathroom was huge. Too bad we couldn't hang out in the bathroom. It sucked that we had this huge bathroom, but only a shower, no tub. Our queen bed was against the wall, not really ideal for two people, and the bed was very hard. Some people say that's because it's a platform bed, but we stayed somewhere else that had a platform bed and it was as soft as can be. We did pick a back bedroom, and I'm not sure that was a great idea. I don't know how loud the front rooms were, but our room was very dark since the window just looked over a wall that was two feet away. The continental breakfast, which costs $10 per person, was a bit expensive for what you get. The service was really good though, in both the breakfast room and at the front desk. I also appreciated the army/industrial decor and nice shampoo/conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanmight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I travel to Portland quite a bit and have stayed in various different hotels but I've always wanted to stay at the Ace. It just exudes hip-ness. The hotel has great design from the lobby to the room keys! It's a great alternative to the chains that are out there.

I appreciate all the design touches and the intentional vintage look to the place. I love the communal lobby with the sofa's. The upstairs reading/computer area is also a great place to lounge. The location is very central and you can't go wrong with stumptown, kenny and zukes and clyde commons right downstairs.

Room wise, it is quite sparse but it does have some interesting touches. Love the malin and goetz bath products and the charcoal soap. The little tip envelope was a great idea. The hand sink in the corner felt a little like I was in a hostel. I had a double room which I had to myself which was pretty nice. Although if I was sharing the room it would be a little cramped. It is an old building in front of a noisy street so don't expect it to be quiet. The beds however were not comfortable for me. They were pretty hard and sparse. I like fluffy duvets and pillows not really what you get at the Ace. Sleep wise not great for me but adequate. The ironing board was one of those small little table top ones which are quite annoying to use. They did have what looked like a good breakfast on the second floor.

If you are looking for a boutique 4-5* hotel with the full package: valet, bathrobes, mini bar, pillow menu and pool. This is not the hotel for you. If you are in Portland for a unique, fun, seen and be seen hipster vibe I would say the Ace is for you. Personally I felt like a little intimidated, like you're at an indie hip art opening, and everyone is a notch cooler than you.

Pricewise, I was here for a conference and so luckily for me I didn't have to pay for my room ($170/night). The real deterrent for me from staying here in the past really was the price and still is. In Portland there are so many nice boutique hotels to stay at for the same price with better service and with comfier interiors. If you are curious I would stay at least once for the experience but personally I don't think i'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cw8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I'm a fan of the Ace hotels and I like their whole vibe and style, but I think they're overcharging for this one. No gym, no pool, loud, ridiculous elevator, very small room with bad sliding bathroom door and an annoying sink-in-the-corner situation. On the plus side, it's all very cute and the downtown location is convenient. There's a Stumptown Coffee located off the lobby as well as the very good Clyde Common -- great drinks and food, especially during happy hour. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bighassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I reviewed the ACE after our previous stay in May 2009. When planning our return trip to Portland we thought about staying someplace else just to change things up but kept talking about the Ace. It was decided!

We booked a front facing room so that we'd have some natural light. Man, I forgot how noisy it can be out there! Good thing the Ace supplies ear plugs. We used them. Our room had a glass enclosed shower in room. And then the toilet was enclosed behind it. This wasn't my preference, but wasn't as problematic as I feared upon check in.

Alright, so review changes from the previous stay-- since our last visit they've added a breakfast service out of a converted space on the first floor. Its $10 to visit and worth every penny. Fresh coffee and tea, juices and baked goods. An attendant offers you a prepared dish. There's also an assortment of fruits, cheeses, meats and pickled stuff. I really enjoyed the whole concept.

One big giant complaint-- something that honestly spoiled my opinion of the hotel-- TWICE we entered Clyde Common to get a night cap while the place was bustling with people at the bar and at tables. Both times (and early mind you), the bartender told us he had just called last call. I even explained that we were staying at the hotel and catching an early flight in the morning and didn't feel like galavanting around. No dice. Lame. Seriously. Last call is super early and the bartender didn't feel any compassion toward hotel guests. I'm quite sure we would have finished our drinks well before some of the other people who remained at the bar with fresh drinks that they had gotten before his 'last call'. It sucked.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 142 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 142 in Portland
285 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,564 - ₹ 22,164
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing