We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Center
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I'll be honest: I read "Econo Lodge" and I frown.

However, I read the positive reviews on here and decided to risk staying here. I'm glad that I did.

Clean rooms, cheap price, and genial and helpful service. Can't ask for much more than that for a night's stay. This place is on par with some Comfort Inns or Quality Inns that I stayed at.

Still, breakfast is on the light side, parking's a little tight, and the rooms have outdoor entrances.

For the price I paid, however, I don't think this place can be beat value-wise. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnrothx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

I was in Portland this week for a couple of days with my parents who needed to be near OHSU hospital. We chose this Econo Lodge because of its location and because of the positive reviews we read on Trip Advisor. We were glad we did. The motel was very nice, extremely clean, the owners were very helpful and pleasant to work with, and OHSU was about 5 minutes away. We had a good stay and would gladly stay here again, whether or not we needed to be near the hospital.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Although you won't get the amenities you'd expect at a Hilton or Marriott .... this is a first rate motel.

I only booked here because I had friends that were staying here .... and probably wouldn't have otherwise. I'm a frequent "hoteler" and normally stay at Hilton properties.

I was beyond pleasantly surprised with this property. The owner / managers were first rate -- hospitable, friendly, and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. Behind the check in counter were awards for their housekeeping besting the standards of this chain .... and the awards were deserved.

In most locations of the country, I would be hesitant to stay at an EconoLodge when other options presented themselves. Regarding this property, however, I would stay there again without giving it a second thought. ..... and, as a bonus, the location is A+.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Easy to find right off freeway. Friendly reception, easy check in. Small room but lots of shelf space for cases, etc. A/C worked very well in 92 degree heat! Fridge, microwave in room. Comfortable beds.
A little old and worn but very suitable for our needs. Easy walk to downtown or near train and streetcar. Parked right outside our unit ($10 charge). Small continintal breakfast of bread and bagels.
Clean, comfortable stay. I'd stay here again on my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It looks a bit in need of renos from the outside but this simply contributes to it being a very good deal for lodging in central Portland. The rooms are nice and clean and the location is right next to the free streetcars that service the downtown core. The owners are helpful in the extreme with all the directions and recommendations you could ask for; they're truly pleasant people. We'll stay there again as Portland is a fun city and this hotel allows you to stay without being fleeced at the big corporate ritzy joints. (be sure to visit the zoo; it's amazing).

Room Tip: There is no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighMilesRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#46 of 144 in Portland
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#51 of 144 in Portland
742 reviews
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Center

Address: 1889 SW 4th Ave, Portland, OR 97201-5303 (Formerly Fourth Avenue Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 6,133 - ₹ 10,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge City Center is located near PSU, and walking distance to the downtown area. We are 1.5 miles from OHSU, VA Hospital, Doernbecher, Shriner's Children Hospital and the Casey Eye Institute. We are 4 blocks from the Keller Auditorium, where they have musicals, operas, and concerts. Public transportation is within 2 blocks from us. We have 25 of the famous food trucks located across the street from us. Our rooms are not fancy, but we are clean and comfortable with 42" TVs, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron/board, and have complimentary wifi and a continental breakfast to get you started in the morning. We pride ourselves with our customer service; we want you to enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hotel Portland
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing