We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left early ...bug bites, noisy and bad service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Portland North
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Left early ...bug bites, noisy and bad service.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was to stay at Motel 6 for 2 days and ran to check out after spending one very sleepless night in the hotel. Took desk staff over 5 minutes to arrive after pushing button for service...note I arrived at 4 in the afternoon not 4 in the morning and I still had to wiat for someone to come and check me in. I checked out at 5am and still had to wait over 10 minutes for her to arrive.
Had bug bites all over my arms and legs. Immediately went to laundromat and washed everything with bleach and hot water....taking no chances.
Told this to check out desk agent....she just said "oh...I'll refund you for the unused nights stay". Gee...thanks. No sorry, no I'll make sure to have someone contact you. Nope,nada.
Stay away...far far away from this property. Went to Viking Hotel....not Taj Mahal but clean and staff was exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boopatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
16
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just relocated from Los Angeles to Portland and chose to stay at this Motel 6 with my cat until I found an apartment. We stayed there for three weeks and felt very comfortable. The staff was wonderful to me. Always friendly and asking about how things were going for me. The motel is quiet and clean, and even though it is an industrial area - it is actually a very central location due to the easy quick access to Interstate 5. The rooms felt like they had fairly recently been redone. Bedding was new and clean. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone considering staying at a reasonably priced motel in Portland. I am very glad I started out my new life in Portland there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My daughter, her dog, and I stayed here for two nights because the extreme storm that hit her home in Olympia, WA, in late January, 2012, knocked out her power for nearly a week and I was scheduled to fly into Portland for a visit during that week.

When I phoned the hotel directly and asked if my daughter could check in early to get a warm room and hot shower after her extended power outage, they were extremely gracious. I can't say enough good things about their customer service.

That said, this is a Motel 6. You're not getting room service, free breakfast, or a concierge. They give you a clean, warm, and safe place to stay at a reasonable price.

It is about 10 to 15 minutes from the PDX airport. Within walking distance there are Mexican, Asian, and American restaurants,fast food, and a small convenience center. We loved breakfast at Elmer's.The local area is a small enclave close to a race track.

The hotel is a quick jump on I-5 down to the Portland city center or to the east to the Mall on the Gorge and Multnomah Falls

Parking is close. There is an elevator. Free wi-fi that actually let me stream a program. We never had to wait for hot water. Temperature control in the room worked well. Good access to cable tv. Hairdryer not in every room but you can check one out at the front desk. Sound insulation very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2manydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Everything was clean, the front desk staff very nice and the dog was welcome.
It was a little noisy being on the first floor but those are the pet friendly rooms.

Room Tip: if you need amenities, like a frig or hair dryer, ask them. I didn't have them in my pet friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEVENSON
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Once again I overrode my own instincts. I've looked this motel over before and avoided it. This motel 6 is overpriced by far and in a lousy neighborhood. I came here because of the expo close by and I was too tired to look any further. The towels are flossed, the carpet dirty. Because I misplaced my AARP card no discount was given, which is common courtesy at most motels when you mention it; and actually are a senior. There are so many do's and don'ts posted and left on counters that it makes you feel like a criminal or at least think that frequent visitors here must be criminals.! I hate myself for renting a room here and I will not do it again.! Drive a little further, pay less or pay more! In any event you won't lose that way!

Room Tip: Go some place else! Cross the River to Hayden Island and stay at the red Lion; drive east and stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vovhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 km away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#85 of 141 in Portland
37 reviews
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
1.6 km away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
0.5 km away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
2.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland North

Property: Motel 6 Portland North
Address: 1125 N Schmeer Rd, Portland, OR 97217-7507
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,944 - ₹ 8,529
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland North 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Portland North is located only 3.5 miles from Oregon’s Broughton Beach. Local restaurants and shops are nearby. Play golf at Portland Meadows Golf Course, within 0.5 mile. Free Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Motel 6 Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland
Motel Six Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing