We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Retro Bachelorette Pad ROCKS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This Retro Bachelorette Pad ROCKS!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

How many FAB reviews have I written for the Inn at Northrup Station?! I've lost track--but as I've said before, I'm a frequent Portland visitor due to a good medical team a few blocks away from this swanky hotel...

Being an adventurous traveler, I usually LOVE to try out new hotels when I come for repeat visits to the same city...but I can't bring myself to go elsewhere in Portland! Why? This place ROCKS! I never thought of it this way before, but on my last visit (even though it was for an ongoing medical saga), I felt like I was a 1960s bachelorette in her mod, hip, wow! far out pad! I belong in the 1960s--the Jetsons, the music, the decor! This place is a palace!!

Along w/the above, I appreciate the hotel's nutritious breakfast, the cordialness of the staff--front desk, housekeeping, breakfast staff...all outstanding! Also--they are flexible and understanding about late check outs, late arrivals, and last minute medical-appointment changes!

Back to the 60s--the music in the lobby is HEAVEN! Picture this: Listening to The Critters' "Mister Dieingly Sad" and The Four Seasons' "Rag Doll"--Trust me: this is musical paradise!

The hospitality, the decor, the breakfast, the music, the location, the customer service--make my medical travels into a very comfortable and memorable time away from home! Thank you!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I adore the 3rd floor in the summer for chillin' out on the rooftop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
The energy and sunshiny-day awesomeness that is positively dripping from this review has all of us at the hotel smiling from ear to ear. There’s not much more we can say about it, beyond confirming that we love having you back each time you roll through, and are so happy you like us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    270
    48
    19
    13
See reviews for
270
426
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This new hotel is well located just a few blocks from the trendy NW 23rd Street area of Portland, right on the city tram line (tickets are included with a hotel stay -- a nice touch). The tram is absolutely silent, no need to worry on that account. However the insulation between rooms is minimal, and we could hear our neighbors having ordinary conversations. The funky decorations (which my mother would call zizzy) are amusing and bright, and fortunately the furniture and everything else is very high quality -- no chairs that wobble, drawers that squeak, etc. The bed is comfortable, and the rooms are absolutely huge, with couch, kitchen, and balcony. Really, the room is incredibly spacious. Great shower, although not enough space in the bathroom for toiletries and wet towels.

Cons are that the included breakfast is pretty dismal. The hotel advertises that it is green, and encourages recycling etc., but breakfast is served on paper plates with plastic silverware. Nothing is recycled or composted. I found it entirely disconcerting. Our room was never fully serviced during our stay. One day we had one towel replaced and nothing else done, and the other day no one ever entered our room at all.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. We would simply skip breakfast entirely and cook our own in the room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for the rooms with the larger balconies facing the tram line. Thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caprietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We love the term "zizzy!" Fits us very well. Thank you for bringing up some things we can do to improve our push toward being more green. In terms of room servicing, we do clean the rooms and make the beds daily so we’ll definitely follow up with staff to figure out what might have occurred. One thing for everyone to know is that we only replace the towels you leave on the ground during a multi-day say, so if they aren’t dirty, hang ‘em up! It saves energy when it comes to washing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Located in NW Portland, this 3 story hotel offers free parking, free internet, free breakfast and free Tramway pass (stop in front of hotel). Staff is very courteous. The hotel and rooms have modern contemporary decor. The rooms are called suites, but there is no wall or partition separation between the king sized bed and the rest of the room (sofa converts to bed); its like a large studio, so do not expect much privacy. Full kitchen with counter (no table), 2 flat screens TV, 1 large desk, plenty of towels in the bathroom. I would give the hotel 5 stars, if the suite had a partition.

Room Tip: Rooms are etiher facing Northtrup St or the rear parking lot; Northtrup was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Good point on the "suites" vs. "studios" distinction. We believe our rooms are pretty suite (sweet) but indeed they are laid out much more like a suite studio apartment. Thanks for the suite review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Always has a room available. Comfortable beds. Nice and funky rooms/decor! Now they have Keurig coffe/tea maker in rooms, really awesome!
They have an excellent free breakfast available. Great service, employees right there if you need anything.
Close to Good Sam Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrayoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Glad you like the new, snazzy coffee makers! We know how hard it is to start the day without a cup so we wanted to make sure our guests were well prepared in that department. Thank you for the review and we’ll be here with a room the next time you need us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We travel from Australia and have stayed at Northrup Inn four times now and have loved every visit. Close to everything and very comfortable. Staff are great and service is excellent - we have quite often ordered packages to be delivered to the hotel and they have always been in our room on our arrival. They have always looked after our luggage when we go traveling for a few days in the middle of visits. As Aussies, we absolutely love the rooftop Barbie (BBQ/grill). Short stroll to Bridgeport Brewery (longer walk home!!), Safeways, NW 23rd etc. Public transport available from PDX to front door (transfer from Max to Streetcar in Downtown 10th and Alder). We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else while in Portland. In fact, we are currently planning our next visit in the next few months. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Have stayed both sides of hotel and much prefer streetcar side, even with the rumble of the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
So when the entire hotel staff decides to visit Australia, we can stay with you, right? ;-) We’re thrilled to be a part of your regular trips to the states and we’re always happy to help with packages and luggage the way you described. Thanks for the review and we look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,800 - ₹ 20,622
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing