We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dossier Hotel(Portland)
US$ 241
US$ 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 183
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 160
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sentinel(Portland)
US$ 271
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 113
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
143
174
34
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
174
34
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingnob hillfree breakfastjack in the boxbelow groundpancake machinewalking distancealphabet districtyogurthotel is locatedeasy accessrestaurants and shoppingthe breakfast areahot tubwould stay here againquiet roomfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The location was close to many great places to eat. The staff was great. Breakfast is set out early so you can grab a bite if you have to hit the suburbs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My mother and I chose this hotel because we wanted to be close to the NW 23rd action. The hotel's location is good and we felt safe walking at all hours. Other positives: clean, free parking, hot tub and pool, and free breakfast. The negatives far outweigh the positives: paper thin walls (can clearly hear your neighbor), unfriendly and unhelpful staff (I asked about the availability of a fan and the girl I asked never even let me know one way or another), uncomfortable bed, etc. Our AC unit was broken and, after an uncomfortable night, we told the front desk. He questioned whether we were properly operating the simple thermostat and, when we assured him we were but it was not working, he said "I don't know what to tell you" and that was the end of that. If the hotel was less expensive, my expectations would be lower. But, for the price paid, you will be better off at one of the other many hotels Portland has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hello Megan K,

First off, thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that the location, parking, hot tub pool and breakfast met your needs but are very sad to hear about the service that you experienced. The service you received during your stay is not typical of our hotel. Management has been informed but we will need more details of your stay to properly address the problem. If you would, please call our hotel and ask for Leroy or myself so that we can properly apologize and see if there is anything we can do to encourage you to give us a second chance.

Our thermostats are tricky, 90% of the time when people question the AC units it is just a matter of flipping a switch on the side of them. I am sure that is why he asked you about it. It is in no way intended to be an insult to you. Before you spend an entire night uncomfortably please call us. We are here 24 hours a day and will be happy to come up to your room and inspect the unit for you so that we can fix it. We want your stay to be as comfortable as possible.

Again, we are very sorry for your experience here. Management knows of this review and will do everything we can to make it up to you. We hope you will give us a second chance.

Sincerely,
Tiffany Cushman and the Holiday Inn Express Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Previously known as an industrial area we stayed NW for proximity to family and because of the pool. Easy access,free parking and warm outgoing staff greeted us. Arriving early we where asked to enjoy a beverage or snack available in the breakfast area while we waited. About 15 min. later we where checked into a complimentary upgrade. A little walk-about up 23rd. Av., recommended by the front counter, brought us to an enjoyable historic area with a multitude of shops and eateries beyond our vision or energy. Our fun afternoon in the pool with granddaughters and the great staff have us looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Life_after_Sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hello there Life_after_Sixty!

We are so happy to hear that you and your granddaughters had a nice time at our hotel! Thank you for your review. We all look forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful new year!

Tiffany Cushman and the rest of the Holiday Inn Express Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We went to Portland with my wife and 2 kids (7yrs - 5 months) and this hotel was actually a good surprise. Rooms and service are pretty standard for a holiday inn but free parking (basically right next to down town) and lots of options for breakfast -that is included- were nice for the family as well but probably the best surprise was the area. Initially you get the feeling that you will be staying on a hotel right next to the highway with only a Jack in the Box across the street BUT if you start walking (suggested by the folks at the lobby because otherwise you wouldnt really think about it) there is a really charming area with lots of neat looking stores and good restaurants only 2 blocks away. Plenty of food options and most of them looked "family friendly"
I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Greetings Mauricio M!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you and your children had a good time in the Nob Hill district. There are many family friendly restaurants located within blocks of our hotel. Next time you come back try Besaw's Cafe, St. Honore Bakery, Kenny & Zukes Deli, Pastini Pastaria and even Southland Whiskey Kitchen. All of those restaurants are within a five minute walk of our hotel and are family friendly.

Have a wonderful new year and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Tiffany Cushman and the Holiday Inn Express Staff : :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Convenient to the attractions and walking distance to many stores and shops and restaurants
Parking is convenient and off the freeway it is easy to find
Great staff and friendly and helpful
Breakfast was standard breakfast fare, served on time
Room was what you would expect
Nice pool area and hot tub

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hi there William R,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It was our pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again!

Have a happy new year!

Tiffany Cushman and the Holiday Inn Express Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews