We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Good Choice”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here before and will always return when we are in Portland. The hotel has easy access on and off the freeway. The location is great for NW 23rd and downtown. Free parking and breakfast is a plus. The rooms are nice size and very clean - beds are comfortable.The staff are always friendly. For the price this close to downtown this hotel is just a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakerCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hello BakerCity!

Thank you so much for writing another review of our hotel! We appreciate our guests and the feedback they leave us very much. Having loyal guests like you really make our jobs satisfying and it is our pleasure to serve you and your family. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better!

We hope your new year is a great one!

Tiffany Cushman and the rest of the Holiday Inn Express Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    153
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
81
108
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The location was close to many great places to eat. The staff was great. Breakfast is set out early so you can grab a bite if you have to hit the suburbs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My mother and I chose this hotel because we wanted to be close to the NW 23rd action. The hotel's location is good and we felt safe walking at all hours. Other positives: clean, free parking, hot tub and pool, and free breakfast. The negatives far outweigh the positives: paper thin walls (can clearly hear your neighbor), unfriendly and unhelpful staff (I asked about the availability of a fan and the girl I asked never even let me know one way or another), uncomfortable bed, etc. Our AC unit was broken and, after an uncomfortable night, we told the front desk. He questioned whether we were properly operating the simple thermostat and, when we assured him we were but it was not working, he said "I don't know what to tell you" and that was the end of that. If the hotel was less expensive, my expectations would be lower. But, for the price paid, you will be better off at one of the other many hotels Portland has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hello Megan K,

First off, thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that the location, parking, hot tub pool and breakfast met your needs but are very sad to hear about the service that you experienced. The service you received during your stay is not typical of our hotel. Management has been informed but we will need more details of your stay to properly address the problem. If you would, please call our hotel and ask for Leroy or myself so that we can properly apologize and see if there is anything we can do to encourage you to give us a second chance.

Our thermostats are tricky, 90% of the time when people question the AC units it is just a matter of flipping a switch on the side of them. I am sure that is why he asked you about it. It is in no way intended to be an insult to you. Before you spend an entire night uncomfortably please call us. We are here 24 hours a day and will be happy to come up to your room and inspect the unit for you so that we can fix it. We want your stay to be as comfortable as possible.

Again, we are very sorry for your experience here. Management knows of this review and will do everything we can to make it up to you. We hope you will give us a second chance.

Sincerely,
Tiffany Cushman and the Holiday Inn Express Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Previously known as an industrial area we stayed NW for proximity to family and because of the pool. Easy access,free parking and warm outgoing staff greeted us. Arriving early we where asked to enjoy a beverage or snack available in the breakfast area while we waited. About 15 min. later we where checked into a complimentary upgrade. A little walk-about up 23rd. Av., recommended by the front counter, brought us to an enjoyable historic area with a multitude of shops and eateries beyond our vision or energy. Our fun afternoon in the pool with granddaughters and the great staff have us looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Life_after_Sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hello there Life_after_Sixty!

We are so happy to hear that you and your granddaughters had a nice time at our hotel! Thank you for your review. We all look forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful new year!

Tiffany Cushman and the rest of the Holiday Inn Express Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We went to Portland with my wife and 2 kids (7yrs - 5 months) and this hotel was actually a good surprise. Rooms and service are pretty standard for a holiday inn but free parking (basically right next to down town) and lots of options for breakfast -that is included- were nice for the family as well but probably the best surprise was the area. Initially you get the feeling that you will be staying on a hotel right next to the highway with only a Jack in the Box across the street BUT if you start walking (suggested by the folks at the lobby because otherwise you wouldnt really think about it) there is a really charming area with lots of neat looking stores and good restaurants only 2 blocks away. Plenty of food options and most of them looked "family friendly"
I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Greetings Mauricio M!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you and your children had a good time in the Nob Hill district. There are many family friendly restaurants located within blocks of our hotel. Next time you come back try Besaw's Cafe, St. Honore Bakery, Kenny & Zukes Deli, Pastini Pastaria and even Southland Whiskey Kitchen. All of those restaurants are within a five minute walk of our hotel and are family friendly.

Have a wonderful new year and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Tiffany Cushman and the Holiday Inn Express Staff : :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,377 - ₹ 19,780
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing