We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room okay, internet horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Ranked #32 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed at this facility numerous times (>12 platinum Hyatt passport member) and generally pleased with the room, location and price however the internet service is absolutely horrible. While it is advertised as "free" we all know that "free" is contained in the price and advertised as a service (same as towels, shampoo, etc). During this stay (and seen in the past few) the internet connection is frustratingly slow and doing basic work (email, VPN, etc) is as painful as pulling your own teeth. This was seen in my room on a laptop, iPad, iPhone and in the lobby on iPad, laptop...this will need to improve or I will need to convert to my other travel choice at Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASSWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you so much for your patronage to Hyatt, and we sincerely apologize for your inconveniences.
Our Wi-Fi has been a challenge for us now that most travelers use iPad and other devices allowing you to stream video with programs such as net flicks which pull a great deal of bandwidth. We have communicated this to our ownership and they have heard us! It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations, and in that effort, have just increased our bandwidth by more than 300%! This went live 03/23/12!
Thank you so much for your feedback, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 940 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

The facility is new and clean but the staff attitude is utter disregard. I am from Texas--Central Time--so when I arrived at the hotel at 10:00pm Pacific it was already midnight on my clock. I wanted to go to bed. Well there was a lot of noise from the room next to mine so I called and the front desk said "someone would check it out." 30 minutes later it continued so I called back and went through the same drill. Finally, as it approached midnight--meaning 2:00am on my clock--I went to the front desk with my bags requesting a room change. The "party" room had its door proppoed open, was smoking (its supposed to be a smoke-free hotel--but apparently not) and had moved furniture from other rooms.

I was told by the front desk that no other rooms were available. Yet, while standing there--at least 6 airline employees walked up and were handed keys for other rooms! I was told
those rooms were "under contract." So the economics are--give the good, quiet rooms to the
cheap contracted rate while the full rate-paying customer ends up with the loud room. I also attempted to leave, only to find the neighboring hotels were full. So I was stuck with the noise.

The front desk told me they had spoken with the room next door and since it was getting late--they'd be wrapping up their poker game soon. Once they closed the propped-open door--the noise reduced in the hall (meaning there was nothing else the front desk could do) but the talking continued through my wall. Eventually it quieted down--close to 2:00am--near 4:00am on my clock--meaning I was up for 22 hours.

The next morning I was told there was "no record" of a poker game--only a record of a smoking incident. I asked to speak with the manager but I guess he was too busy all morning to be bothered to call me back. They front desk acted like I was looking for
something for free! They offered me free eggs which is nothing because the breakfast buffet is free! Plus, c'mon--I'm on an expense account--I'm actually better off paying and getting my Gold Passport points! I'm the one who got little sleep--not my employer. So, unable to get any resolve with the manager and the staff being in denial, I checked out early and walked over to the ALOFT next door. Apparently Hyatt Place makes enough money on airline crews that it doesn't need full-paying guests.

Room Tip: The good rooms are reserved for the airline employees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JakeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences to you during your stay with us.
I would like to begin as you did, with the noise level from other rooms surrounding yours. Please know every effort was made to ask the guests around you to comply with the noise policy of the hotel, and while we cannot always update you as to exactly what has been communicated, we absolutely were in effort to quiet the other guests. Management did get involved with the noisy guests, and according to our records were quieted around 11pm, which I understand given the time change was very late for you, and we sincerely apologize despite our efforts we were unable to accomplish this in a quicker time frame. In addition, please know our hotel is 100% non smoking. We found on this evening, the smoke smell was actually coming from outdoors as guests were smoking outside the main door near your room and carrying the scent with them as they returned to their rooms. We do require all guests to smoke not within 10 feet of the entrances, however, with Portland weather we do understand this does not always happen as we hope.
On the evening of your stay, I did look through our records and find we were 100% full. Please understand had we not been, we definitely would have moved your room as per your request. With concern to airline crews, please know we strive to deliver consistent service to all guests of the hotel without regard to rate. The information regarding those rooms being contracted is correct, however, that truly does not have any impact on the rooms they were checked into. These guests had a prearranged arrival time, which was, as you stated, during the time you were asking to be moved. We would have been unable to re-clean your room in order to relocate those guests for you, and as we would not have asked any guest with pre-arrangements to wait in the lobby while we relocated another guest into their ready room, please know these guests being "crew" did not impact the situation; they are also our guests.
I also wish to address the miscommunication as far as management speaking with you. Our records indicate you stopped at the desk and stated you wished to speak with a manager at the time of your check out, indicated in about 5 minutes. Our AGM was at that time at the desk to speak with you, however, when you had not arrived at the desk, went to wait in the back office for your check out. Our AGM was never notified you were at the desk; I apologize if at some point there was a miscommunication as to your desired method of contact.
In closing, I again apologize for the issues during your stay. It is always our goal to provide the very highest quality of service, and while I believe efforts were made, understand you left unsatisfied which is unacceptable to us. I would absolutely offer you compensation for our failure to meet your expectations, however, find prior to this communication with us you have been given a free night at any Hyatt Place nationwide. We are in hopes you may use this at our hotel in order to allow us the opportunity to illustrate a typical stay at our facility, as your stay sincerely was not. In addition, please know we will use this as a learning experience for our staff and opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I've stayed here twice now and each time was extremely impressed. Of course it helps that the hotel is only a couple years old but still feels brand new, that it's in a greal airport location, and staffed by friendly and competent people.

PROS:

ROOM: spacious, clean, quiet, cordless phone, microwave, medium fridge, 50 inch HDTV with HD programming, heavenly bed, lots of counter space. Large shower (no tub). Vertical safe built into the tiny closet. I would love everyone of my hotel stays to be in a room like this.

HSIA: free wireless and wired (supply your own cable or check one out from the front desk.) Good speed.

PHONE: free local and 800 calls

BREAKFAST: free continental plus--very good slow-cooked oatmeal, cut fruits, cereal, bread and pastries. You can pay and order hot breakfast (eggs + meat) The Hyatt Place in Honolulu had hot skillet breakfast sandwiches (free) but not this one. This feature seems to vary depending on location.

FITNESS CENTER: 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 bike (All LifeFitness)
free weights, all in a nice large room with good A/C.

LOCATION: across from Cascade Station shopping center (IKEA, Best Buy, Sports Authority, Starbucks, Red Robin, Starbucks, etc.)

AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION: free shuttle or walk 1 block and take the MAX train ($2.50). Plenty of free parking in back. Has Park and Fly option.

CONS:

Can't really think of any. The room rates are competitive with surrounding properties.

Room Tip: rooms facing the back (parking lot) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXBigGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My first Hyatt Place was a great find and I have been enjoying the brand since. Decent quick service on check-in and the rooms appear the same regardless of which HP you stay. The rooms have a nice sitting area with desk for working and large flat screen TV. The location is close to the Portland Airport in Cascade Station with lot of places to eat or shop within walking distance. Eateries nearby include Buffalo Wild Wings, Famous Daves BBQ, Hot Pot 'n Sushi, Pizano's Pizza, Red Robin, Starbucks, IHOP, Panda Express, Taco Del Mar, Quiznos Subs and YoCream. Shopping includes IKEA, Best Buy, Target, Staples, Sports Authority and Marshall to name a few. Services at the hotel include Complimentary Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, newspaper, parking and airport shuttle plus they have self-service check-in/check-out kiosks.
I constantly see rates here under $100 with all the freebies, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I like the Hyatt Place brand, and this hotel was exactly what I expected for an airport location. Unlike some other reviewers, I never heard any aircraft noise, and I'm a very light sleeper. The nearby restaurants aren't gourmet quality, but few airport restaurants are. The front desk was pleasant and efficient. I'd be even happier if the chain offered a hot entree or two for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.2 km away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#41 of 144 in Portland
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Address: 9750 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6827
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 8,075 - ₹ 13,714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing