We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for a second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Back for a second visit”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We love to stay at this hotel for the park and fly option. We were so disappointed on our trip that the hotel out of state was not a Residence Inn. You just can't go wrong with spacious rooms, free wifi, free parking, and free shuttle to the airport. The shuttle driver will even drive you over to food in a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Very nice when its raining. We will back again in December. The super target next door is very handy for last minute items. The super Target now features a large grocery section. Perfect longer stays when you want to cook meals in room.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor rooms for a quiet nights rest. The hotel is near an airport so ear plugs are a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    116
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
134
113
38
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at this property for a long weekend in late March, and found a lot to like about the hotel itself. The room was beautiful, well laid out and spacious. Comfortable king bed, with lots of pillows. Furniture in the seating area was nice, contemporary but comfy; the kitchen had full sized appliances and looked great, even though we didn't use it much. Flat screen TV that swivels to be viewed from any area. The bathroom was fine, nothing fancy, but nice cabinets; the room had lots of storage here and in all other areas.

The location of this hotel is near the airport, but also convenient to freeways and extremely close to light rail...it's in the parking lot! There is a shopping area very close, with Ikea, Home Goods, as well as a few restaurants.

Breakfast was included, and it was fine. Pretty typical hotel offerings: eggs, breakfast meats, waffles, yogurt, cereals. The breakfast area adjoins the lobby and both areas are as nicely appointed and comfortable as the room.

So! Why am I not giving this hotel a higher rating? I read some reviews that commented on the staff's lack of consideration and failure to make a good impression. Figured everyone has an off day, and booked anyway. I'm not sure I would do it again, and I guess the blame needs to go to the general manager. We experienced slow and inattentive service at the front desk, had problems with housekeeping on two days of our three day stay, and witnessed some shoddy customer service interactions between the staff and several other guests. The manager's office is quite near the front desk, and he can most certainly hear the desk clerk's rude snippy exchanges with guests. I wonder why he hasn't taken action to correct the situation? Oh, that's right...our parting memory of this hotel was being ignored at the front desk by the manager himself. He's part of the problem!

It would be interesting to hear glowing reviews about this place in a few months...I hope someone with some authority steps in and fixes things here before it's too late. The hotel has too much going for it to allow a badly trained staff to ruin it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joleenn453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We really loved having this hotel as a home base. We met my parents here for a pre-Christmas get-together. They had a one bedroom suite on the first floor which was an excellent corner unit. We had a studio suite down the hall at first, but after the first night we requested to be transferred because the carpets had just been cleaned and so the room smelled of chemicals. Once we brought this to the attendants attention, he switched us quickly. (This is the only reason I'm not giving this property 5 stars)

The best part about the hotel is that it's at a train stop. (Note: even though the name of the hotel is "Cascade Station", the train stop you'll want to use is Mt. Hood, not Cascade Station. Mt Hood is one stop from the Airport). We rode the train into Portland one day and explored via public transportation. For us small city folk that was pretty fun (and convenient, as I hate Portland traffic). There are also quite a few good restaurants one stop down (at Cascade Station).

Target is also right next door (shares the same parking lot), which was convenient to buy baby supplies (our daughter was 1), wine, and other little necessities. They also keep ice cream and other snacks on hand near the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakobis2cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler66
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stay at this property when traveling to Portland because of its close proximity to the airport and easy access to the MAX light rail system. You have a choice between calling the hotel for a free three-minute shuttle ride from the airport or riding MAX one stop to the parking lot of the hotel. For those who want to visit downtown Portland, the location of this hotel and its proximity to public transit prevents you from having to rent a car. And, the hotel itself is modern and clean. The rooms are spacious, come with free wifi and have full kitchen for your convenience. Shopping of all types is very nearby. This place has become my favorite Portland-area hotel and I think you, too, will be favorably impressed!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here transiting out of PDX as it was was close to the airport. We arranged a shuttle for airport pickup and was told conflicting instructions and timing on the shuttle. We were told initially to call immediately when we land and proceed to to pickup area. When we called upon landing the male clerk told us that we were calling way too early as it takes just a few minutes to reach the pickup point and to call back after we get our bags. When we called back after picking up our bags (just inside the pickup area) a different clerk told us that now it would take up to 15 mins for pickup at this point. Not nice as it was in the 30's outside and we had some toddlers and seniors in our group. I had to make a third call in the cold after about 25 mins and the shuttle arrived finally more than 30 mins. When I questioned the driver he was defensive and full of excuses, and when I asked if he was the person I spoke to initially on the phone he said no he was just the driver. When we reached the hotel and spoke to the clerk inside to complain she said that the driver was indeed the one who took the first call and gave us the inital instructions. The be fair the rooms were clean and decent size but will not be staying here anymore as there seems to be no integrity, honesty, or professionalism at this residence inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aeternam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.7 km away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#37 of 141 in Portland
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Property: Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Address: 9301 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6822
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#28 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,756 - ₹ 19,507
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Portland Airport is a newly renovated, all-suite hotel located less than one mile from Portland International Airport and only 9 miles from downtown Portland. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and restaurants in the new Cascade Station Shopping Center. The Mt. Hood MAX Stop is located adjacent to the hotel for easy access to Downtown Portland. We offer beautiful, spacious suites and outstanding amenities, perfect for business or leisure travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Airport At Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing