We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the same...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Portland City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the same...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visiting the Courtyard again (still here) and it isn't the same as my visit last year. Perhaps it was this specific weekend, but my floor was very noisy. The hotel was hopping Saturday night, the vibe was good but the lobby was packed. Unfortunately I'd been sick during the week, looking forward to some good sleep while visiting my son at Portland State. My neighbors to one side came home at 1:30 am drunk, laughing and loud, running from room to room. Neighbor on the other side had a baby and toddler who woke up hollering at 5:30 am, and the parents seemingly did nothing to quiet them until after 8:30. Not the hotels fault of course, but disappointing none the less. Rooms are clean, amenities nice. Bed comfortable but only one thin "comforter" and thin towels. Great location tho, close to everything downtown/Pearl

Room Tip: Ask for x10, they're in the corner away from elevator and away from the normal course of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    411
    86
    13
    8
See reviews for
146
382
102
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Ocean State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This Courtyard is a step - or three - above. Think Marriott consistency meets Boutique Hotel - with the emphasis on Boutique Hotel. Our room was great, comfortable beds, nice bath, mini fridge. The on site restaurant was really nice (what a great breakfast) the music in the hip lobby area was sublime, free coffee, umbrellas for loan, incredible customer service. I enjoyed the larger than usual workout room, with headphones availalbe in case you've forgotten your earbuds (I had). On our last trip to Portland we stayed at Hotel 50, which I loved. This hotel is quieter and the vibe is just as cool. I love this hotel and will stay here on my next trip to Portland!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STJStateofMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is not your typical Courtyard Hotel; it offers a more sophisticated vibe with some outstanding amenities such as an enormous gym; comfortable business office and contemporary bar/restaurant.

Unlike most Courtyards' it does not offer a complimentary breakfast and parking is extra (in my case $30 per night). Fortunately, there's free street parking at night, but prepare for some jockeying of parking spaces to keep the cost down.

Nevertheless, it's a great place to stay, and recommend it.

Room Tip: Watch out for extra parking costs; and ask for a higher floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jylleallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Not your typical Courtyard feel, more boutique style with a great bar and home style restaurant attached. Close to lots of things and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I loved my stay here over presidents day weekend. I usually stay at the Nines but I decided to give courtyard city center a try because of a reccomendation. The Triple AAA hot deals gave me a room WITH valet for $115. Perfect!

Our arrival was quickly greeted by valet and our check in was easy. The lobby is relaxing and fresh. They had tic tac toe game and a warm fire place. The colors and decor was very modern. The room we stayed had the picture of a river. The bed was A+++ and so was the showers. The only con was that you have to call down to get the fridge to work. They have them shut of because it is a green hotel.

I didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but I intend to come back. I would also like to add that the location is AMAZING. It is in the middle of everything. Primarily, I LOVE it because it is right across from Portland City Grill! I would recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txeinsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#11 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,669 - ₹ 20,880
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing