We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Portland City Center
Ranked #103 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Location was perfect for us. Rooms were just what was needed. I really only need a bed and a hot shower, come on this is a motel, what more do you want?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackindabox392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    83
    113
    73
    67
See reviews for
94
81
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My husband had a very early appointment at the VA and this motel was an option the VA gave us for lodging after checking out the website and having stayed at other travel lodges and had been happy, we decided on this one, very bad choice. The desk clerk was very odd and shifty. The room was dirty and dingy, beds were very uncomfortable and the noise from traffic was horrible. The lounge or bar is not recommended, I don't know how to say this without tripadvisor not publishing it but I think people should be warned, but it is considered a homosexual bar, so if you are not interested, avoid it!! The neighborhood surrounding the motel is not very good either.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

As the title states, the location is great. Rooms... a bit worn but clean. The price use to be a good deal but they've raised their prices to the point of not being worth it. I haven't tried it yet but "last minute room deals" offer "four star" rooms at "one star" prices. I'll let you know.

If you need to be close to OHSU the location might be worth it. The location will take the stress out of getting to the hospitals if you have family there.

Room Tip: Some rooms allow smoking. Some rooms are right over the bar. Specify your preferences when making yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good_As_Gone_4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The only thing good about this place is that it was inexpensive. It's near the hospital where we had to go. The couch had stuffing coming out of it, the lamps were old and cracked. No phonebook or TV listings. It was clean. Charged for safe in room that we didn't ask for.
Paint peeling off the walls. We will avoid it next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed at the Travelodge with my sister while we were travelling down the coast and stopped in portland. We paid $200 for three nights, which was a bargain! It is really easy to get to by bus, and the staff are friendly and helpful!

The food downstairs at Suki's is great, and the staff are really welcoming and friendly as well. The room was clean, a little small, clean and totally nice! It had everything you need, as well as extra coffee in the lobby. They give you buy one get one half price vouchers for breakfast at Suki's which I tried and was the best freakin waffle ive ever eaten!

The location is good, but only for the price really. If you are visiting because you need to go downtown, its great!!! its about 3 or 4 blocks from downtown, not a scary or dodgy area (we walked around at night, it seemed much safer than downtown!!!) If you are looking to get to the NW or SW area, which is the cooler younger area, it might be better to stay in that area, but for downtown the Travelodge is ideal! There is a free tram that stops a few blocks from the Travelodge, but buses go both ways right outside the door!

The staff were nice, we stayed mid week but didnt hear anything from the 'loud' bar or loud street, unless you are a very light sleeper or a bit of a princess you will be absolutely fine, it was really hot and I hate air conditioning, we slept with the window open on to the street and it was totally ok.

I would say that if you are interested in being able to get around Portland and see the main sights by bus or walking on a budget, the Travelodge is ideal!

PS there are loads and loads of homeless people and people asking for money in portland, it can kind of creep you out. its ok if you just say no, they arent dangerous, but there are A LOT!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjenny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 142 in Portland
724 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 142 in Portland
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portland City Center

Property: Travelodge Portland City Center
Address: 2401 SW 4th Ave, between Cruthers & Sheridan, Portland, OR 97201-4913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,481 - ₹ 18,289
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Portland City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland City Center Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Portland Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing