We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scruffy, noisy but bed was comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Portland City Center
Ranked #105 of 139 Hotels in Portland
usa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Scruffy, noisy but bed was comfortable!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

On 2nd floor above a karaoke bar - next to a very busy road - noisy a/c did cover some of the noise. Nice sized fridge, microware. Furniture scruffy but carpet appeared to be new and room was clean. We booked early and paid 1/2 of the asking price on the day of the stay which was more than enough. Its a few minutes walk from the trimet station at PSU and 5th which is in the free zone. You have to walk to 6th to get the trimet back down to the city centre but that was ok.

Room Tip: rooms in the annexe are probably quieter - further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    74
    108
    68
    66
See reviews for
87
76
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Room was small but relativly clean... Citi centar and shops are really close- few minutes by walk. You have allday free coffe and tea but for breakfast you must extra pay. In the same building is some pub and during the weekend is noisy. But, all in all, good hotel for low price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putnik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here 4 days in late May. There are good and bad things about this motel, but for the great price I paid, I'd say it was worth it. I'd stay here again. It was clean enough, the bed was fine and it was easy to walk into the downtown. Free streetcar was pretty close.

At first I had room 72, which has a window opening onto the intersection (4th and Caruthers), right over the Travelodge sign. I loved leaning out this window at night, watching people pass by below, watching the traffic. The room was simple but perfect: A counter in the bathroom, a bar to hang clothes on, comfortable bed. I don't ask for much. (Getting the shower to work was tricky. I had to call the office.) One small quibble was the shower had only one temperature: hot. Better than cold, I suppose, but after going running I would have liked some cool water.

Another downer is there is a karaoke bar in the building. I had been worried about noise, but since there was another floor between me and the bar, I felt better. My first night I heard no noise and slept well. That was a Thursday. Friday night was different. I fell asleep at midnight, and at 1:00 a loud noise woke me. Then I could hear people talking and laughing out on the street. The bar door banged shut every minute or so. I couldn't fall back asleep for hours. I was furious.

So in the morning I requested to be moved to the other building, away from the bar. At first the clerk doubted my story, saying no one had ever complained of bar noise in room 72. He said it several times, as if I were lying. FInally he agreed to hold a room for me in the other building. So I had to pack up and check out, then check in later.
My room in the other building was not as nice. No counter in bathroom. Nowhere to hang clothes. (And the people next door had a dog in their room. It barked when I passed but did not wake me, as I'd feared.) The bed was OK though, and I heard no night noises.

Parking is another issue. Lots of spots if you park by 5 or 6. But one night I got back around 11 and there were no spots. Desk clerk had no suggestion other than "find street parking." I had to park blocks away and was nervous, but the car was OK in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed for two nights using reviews and prices as a guide. This hotel was very clean and very welcoming. The staff were very helpful. The area is safe day and night. We booked with Travelocity.ca which stated breakfast included however the hotel does not have any facilities for breakfast (this happened to us in Seattle so we think it is the site) Only bad point is if you are on the first floor, there is a bar under the hotel which is loud until 1am. We were on the 2nd floor so didn't affect us. The bar is very very cheap with a great happy hour (4pm - 8pm) & (9pm-10pm on karoke nights) Would def stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Inexpensive but dumpy. The air conditioner didn't work properly and of course there was no one available to fix it. I was told the free parking was "available on a first-come-first serve" basis. Avoid if you can afford something better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Days Inn Portland Central
#94 of 139 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portland City Center

Property: Travelodge Portland City Center
Address: 2401 SW 4th Ave, between Cruthers & Sheridan, Portland, OR 97201-4913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,542 - ₹ 12,695
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Portland City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland City Center Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Portland Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing