We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Benson, a Coast Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 183
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 145
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$ 239
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 197
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 172
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 264
US$ 257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 187
US$ 151
ClarionHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 155
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Hotel(Portland)
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveller rating
1,347
719
245
108
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,347
719
245
108
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtbeautiful hotelclassic hotelbeautiful lobbyjunior suitelobby barold schoolthe pearlwithin walking distanceolder hotelwine tastingstreet noiseheart of downtowngreat downtown locationpowell's bookstorevalet parkingpioneer square
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here the first time during a visit to see our family. I liked that the location was downtown within walking distance to a number of coffee places and stores. The lobby of the hotel is quite gorgeous and you see many pictures of it online. The room was fine although in some need of updating. The bathroom seemed to be more updated than the rest of the room. One weird thing I noticed was quite strange music in the elevators, and it was rather loud. The staff were nice. Might stay here again. Be aware that there are a lot of panhandlers on the sidewalk outside the hotel and they wait there for guests to come and go.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaneoheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit to The Benson Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is just stunning. The lobby feels though you have stepped back in time to when the building first opened, while the rooms are modern with a vintage feel. They are clean, comfortable and have your basic amenities. The hotel is close to a few restaurants and diners as well as a short distance to the well know pastry place, Voodoo Doughnuts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Big_sexy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your Four-Star Rating! We appreciate your review of The Benson Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Benson’s beauty and historic allure during your visit. It’s great to hear that you took advantage of our convenient downtown location and experienced the property's attention to detail during your time spent with us. Thanks again for choosing the Benson Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Overall our stay at the Benson Hotel was very pleasant. The room was clean and ready at the time of check in. The location was excellent for exploring downtown Portland and allowed easy access to shopping and dining venues. My only critique would be the noise heard from a near by club late into the night. Also the shower needed some slight repairs. The restaurant in the lobby was awesome for breakfast. Very timely and the portions were appropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the Benson’s convenient location and the property's attention to detail during your time spent with us. We look forward to your return visit to The Benson Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The details of the room update weren’t completed, yet they were happy to sell the room for the night. The room price was ok, but the restaurant costs were well above other local restaurants. Xxxxxxxxxxx x

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank dbballan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Although it is difficult to hear negative feedback about your stay with us, your review is invaluable to us so we can be aware of where to make improvements on our product. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We welcome the chance to speak further about your stay offline if you have a moment. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

What a beautiful Hotel full of ambiance, history and the relaxing feel when we stayed. Unbelievable professional and kind staff who actually cared about our comfort and always had a smile a kind word. The Benson exceeded our expectations and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank ranasnell1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to celebrate this very special weekend with us here at The Benson Hotel! We appreciate your Five-Star Rating and Review of our property and services. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed The Benson’s historic allure and friendly staff during your time spent with us. Thanks again for choosing The Benson Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews