We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 214
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 168
US$ 151
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$ 237
US$ 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lucia(Portland)
US$ 287
US$ 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 216
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 227
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Lane Suites & Inn(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$ 209
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
US$ 283
US$ 265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 267
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,507)
Filter reviews
2,507 results
Traveller rating
1,367
730
245
108
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,367
730
245
108
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtclassic hotelbeautiful lobbybeautiful historic hoteljunior suitelobby barold schoolthe pearlwithin walking distanceolder hotelstreet noisewine tastingheart of downtowngreat downtown locationpowell's bookstorevalet parkingbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 2,507 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

In the bedside drawer was a Bible and two sets of ear plugs - while I admire the honesty, I didn't appreciate the paper thin walls or single pane windows. I woke up with the garbage truck, I stayed up with the tv playing three rooms down the hall.

The bathrooms were recently (and badly) renovated. The sink is placed in such a way that washing your hands results in flooding the counter tops.

Ate dinner in the restaurant, which was nice, fast and convenient.

Ate breakfast in the restaurant - we were not welcome. The waitress was hostile to us and sugary sweet with other customers. Which would be fine if the breakfast was yummy... But it wasn't. I got the potato pancakes and the define trait was slimy.

The final straw was the tempurpedic bed. Which is fine if that's what you're used to, but with a bad back it was an unpleasant experience at best.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Although it is difficult to hear negative feedback about your stay with us, your review is invaluable to us so we can be aware of where to make improvements on our product. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We welcome the chance to speak further about your stay offline if you have a moment. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Most conveniently located in the heart of Portland city and within short walk from the riverside, shopping & a variety of eating places. Friendly front desk, concierge & valet. Quality upgraded rooms and construction/improvements seem ongoing. Memory foam bed with a good cushion variety is extra cushy!

Most unusual that when you are the bathroom (4th floor), one can hear tire squeaks coming from the parking garage!

Top marks to your breakfast chef & great service! Try the Avocado Toast!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JacintaTheHague_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Your kind remarks about your experience at The Benson are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Bellhops did not help me upon arrival in the middle of the afternoon despite having a baby, carseat, stroller, suitcase, and diaper bag. As such, I was quite unimpressed by my introduction to the hotel. I was awakened in the middle of the night (3 AM) by loud neighbors and it took about 1 hour for security and the front desk to quiet the situation down.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank vannortwick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Although it is difficult to hear negative feedback about your stay with us, your review is invaluable to us so we can be aware of where to make improvements on our product. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We welcome the chance to speak further about your stay offline if you have a moment. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

After searching for days for a great location hotel we chose the Benson . Best decision. It is in the heart of the city . We did not need our car at all for city stuff just for Mt. Hood drives and Colombia Gorge visit. The front desk gave us a map of directions that lead us to see the most beautiful waterfalls and scenery just 20 mins to 1 hr from hotel . You could go further but we chose to go back to the city. The hotel was so great , clean and rooms were beautiful.

Hood River is worth the drive !!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your Five Star Rating and Review! We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Hotel’s convenient downtown location. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and your guest room! Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Benson Hotel is a Portland institution. Simon Benson gave Multnomah Falls to the City of Portland (he also paid for the eponymous bridge). Even more amazing, we would have left Portland without learning this information if not for the charming bellman at the hotel. The lobby is terrific, with a nice fireplace (gas so perhaps more atmospheric than blazing), lounge seating, and lobby bar. The hotel has a weeknight wine reception in the lobby (that we managed to miss). It also has a "fish program" if you wish a companion fish in your room (speak to housekeeping). The rooms are modern with regular amenities and plenty of well-placed outlets. There were plenty of pillows (at least two types) plus a warm fake fur throw. The only negative was the shower in our room. It isn't a sign of strong water pressure when there is only a half door on the shower. The design of the fixture was very European, with a handheld showerhead (with mount) and low flow. On Sunday late morning there was also low hot water. Going for a run in cold rainy Portland and returning to a tepid weak shower isn't great. Monday mid-morning was certainly better. On the plus side, the bar has an extensive cocktail menu, including some golden oldies like the Aviation and the Penicillin. Service and music (Saturday night) was also pleasant and enjoyable. The hotel is near Powell's books and some nice restaurants. There is a cafe nearby as well as several good restaurants. There are a couple of small markets nearby for drinks or snacks (apples, oranges and bananas too).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiza H, Guest Relations Manager at The Benson, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We appreciate your review of The Benson Hotel! We pride ourselves on the friendly and accommodating nature of our staff and we are pleased to know that is just what you experienced. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room! We have been in the process of completing a room-by-room remodel that provides a refreshed look and feel to each of our guest rooms. As for the showers, we do appreciate your comments so we may share this information with our team. It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Hotel’s convenient downtown location. Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews