We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 191
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 145
US$ 131
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 241
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lucia(Portland)
US$ 276
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 264
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Lane Suites & Inn(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$ 234
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
US$ 283
US$ 265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$ 233
US$ 193
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,477)
Filter reviews
2,477 results
Traveller rating
1,404
765
194
76
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
765
194
76
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvoodoo donutssaturday marketevening receptionomelet barhappy hourhomeless peoplehistoric buildingmade to order omeletscorner suitecomplimentary breakfastvalet parkingself parkliving roomwithin walking distancebeautiful hotelstumptown coffeebeautiful lobby
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 2,477 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

For downtown Portland, this is a very good value considering the size of the accommodation and the location. We often stay in Embassy Suites, but this downtown location in a restored historic building is unique. The service was one of the best that I have experienced at an Embassy Suites. The buffet included some items and special touches that I have not seen at other Embassy Suites.

From the airport, I would recommend taking the Max light rail to the hotel. It is a close walk from the Fountain Station, and then renting a car near the hotel. There is an Enterprise and Hertz office immediately across from the hotel. Although honestly, you could easily enjoy your time in Portland without a car as this hotel is very well located relative to restaurants and other attractions. There was a little street noise on Saturday night as this hotel is very near Voodoo Doughnuts (which it seems all visitors to Portland go to), and some nightclubs. With all the bustling activity, it was great to take an evening walk later in the evening and experience the nightlife.

The location would be great for families as it is close to the river and the many activities along the boardwalk. If you visit in the summer, the Saturday Market (which is also open on Sunday) is an interesting opportunity to get a flavor of Portland. It is a unique experience. Thanks to this well located hotel, we were able to do much more than I thought would be possible during our weekend in Portland. It does not get much better than this. I would highly recommend.

For restaurants, I would recommend the Bijou Cafe which is across the street from the hotel, and the Huber Cafe which is a couple of short blocks away. The Huber Cafe, the oldest restaurant in Portland, which has excellent food, offers a uniquely prepared Spanish Coffee which you may want to order even if you do not drink alcohol just to experience the artistry of the presentation.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank rev_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for writing such a nice review about your stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed the services and our location.
We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

When we checked into this hotel our desk clerk 'gushed' about our room and how it was her favourite. Upon entering the room I could see why. It had vaulted ceilings, a couch, desk (missing in some hotel chains) and being on the corner of the building, 4 big windows. Even though we were only on the second floor, the room was incredibly quiet. If possible get room 109 when you stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank CeeZee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying in one of our unique rooms.
Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I have stayed at this hotel three times already and just booked my fourth visit recently. I hardly ever return to the same hotel so I can have lots of different experiences but this one deserves repeating. The Embassy Suites / Hilton brand offers a similar experience at all of its locations. Free breakfast, two room suites, evening reception. What stands out for this location is the history and elegance of this Portland location. The lobby is beautiful! Historic building in downtown does not disappoint!
The last stay was in the Presidential Suite which I highly recommend. Great view from the top floor.

One item to note is the huge homeless / drug / behavioral health population in downtown Portland. I cannot fault the hotel since it is a city wide problem but if you are from out of town be warned. Not dangerous usually, but a bit unpleasant to walk around downtown. Many sidewalk areas smell of urine.

If you plan to take the Max light rail I highly suggest you DO NOT use the Skidmore Fountain stop. It is the closest stop to the hotel, but since it is under a covered area it has turned into a homeless camp much of the day. Just get off at the next stop and it is still a short walk to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Voodoo donuts if possible. Always entertaining!
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Sunshine50by50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for sharing such gracious comments about your experience at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Downtown. We are glad to read you enjoyed what our hotel had to offer. Please come back and visit anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Hotel is tired and in need of major repair. Location is great but simply over priced for a place badly in need of a makeover. Pool was ok but sauna did not work and floors were very slippery. Gameroom had three working games. The rest including the pool table and pod racer game were out of order. Theater room for the kids was cute but could be dressed up a bit. Paint was peeling on walls in bathrooms

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank kirkl256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel services.
We will share your details with our management team.
We hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Nice location downtown with a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Very elegant with a flavor of the old times yet very modern. Bit pricey as well as the valet parking but..it's downtown and it's a great place to stay. Lots of conference rooms so perfect for companies to organize medium events. Also with chic stores in the lobby.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank 136smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share such helpful details about your stay.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back for another stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews