We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing value!
Absolutely no complaints...
I would stay again in a heartbeat and would recommend highly for business, familu, or leisure trips. The location is peime, the breakfast buffet amonh the best I have had. Quiet, clean, and confortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 464ingridp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments.
We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,264)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For downtown Portland, this is a very good value considering the size of the accommodation and the location. We often stay in Embassy Suites, but this downtown location in a restored historic building is unique. The service was one of the best that I have experienced at an Embassy Suites. The buffet included some items and special touches that I have not seen at other Embassy Suites.

From the airport, I would recommend taking the Max light rail to the hotel. It is a close walk from the Fountain Station, and then renting a car near the hotel. There is an Enterprise and Hertz office immediately across from the hotel. Although honestly, you could easily enjoy your time in Portland without a car as this hotel is very well located relative to restaurants and other attractions. There was a little street noise on Saturday night as this hotel is very near Voodoo Doughnuts (which it seems all visitors to Portland go to), and some nightclubs. With all the bustling activity, it was great to take an evening walk later in the evening and experience the nightlife.

The location would be great for families as it is close to the river and the many activities along the boardwalk. If you visit in the summer, the Saturday Market (which is also open on Sunday) is an interesting opportunity to get a flavor of Portland. It is a unique experience. Thanks to this well located hotel, we were able to do much more than I thought would be possible during our weekend in Portland. It does not get much better than this. I would highly recommend.

For restaurants, I would recommend the Bijou Cafe which is across the street from the hotel, and the Huber Cafe which is a couple of short blocks away. The Huber Cafe, the oldest restaurant in Portland, which has excellent food, offers a uniquely prepared Spanish Coffee which you may want to order even if you do not drink alcohol just to experience the artistry of the presentation.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank rev_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for writing such a nice review about your stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed the services and our location.
We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we checked into this hotel our desk clerk 'gushed' about our room and how it was her favourite. Upon entering the room I could see why. It had vaulted ceilings, a couch, desk (missing in some hotel chains) and being on the corner of the building, 4 big windows. Even though we were only on the second floor, the room was incredibly quiet. If possible get room 109 when you stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank CeeZee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying in one of our unique rooms.
Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel three times already and just booked my fourth visit recently. I hardly ever return to the same hotel so I can have lots of different experiences but this one deserves repeating. The Embassy Suites / Hilton brand offers a similar experience at all of its locations. Free breakfast, two room suites, evening reception. What stands out for this location is the history and elegance of this Portland location. The lobby is beautiful! Historic building in downtown does not disappoint!
The last stay was in the Presidential Suite which I highly recommend. Great view from the top floor.

One item to note is the huge homeless / drug / behavioral health population in downtown Portland. I cannot fault the hotel since it is a city wide problem but if you are from out of town be warned. Not dangerous usually, but a bit unpleasant to walk around downtown. Many sidewalk areas smell of urine.

If you plan to take the Max light rail I highly suggest you DO NOT use the Skidmore Fountain stop. It is the closest stop to the hotel, but since it is under a covered area it has turned into a homeless camp much of the day. Just get off at the next stop and it is still a short walk to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Voodoo donuts if possible. Always entertaining!
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sunshine50by50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing such gracious comments about your experience at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Downtown. We are glad to read you enjoyed what our hotel had to offer. Please come back and visit anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is tired and in need of major repair. Location is great but simply over priced for a place badly in need of a makeover. Pool was ok but sauna did not work and floors were very slippery. Gameroom had three working games. The rest including the pool table and pod racer game were out of order. Theater room for the kids was cute but could be dressed up a bit. Paint was peeling on walls in bathrooms

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank kirkl256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel services.
We will share your details with our management team.
We hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,185 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,540 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 13,114 - ₹ 25,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing