We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant downtown hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant downtown hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there Nov 2011, conveniently located near streetcars, bathroom was nice, beds comfortable. Front desk helpful about public transit, very polite and welcoming. Nel Centro is downstairs lounge (a must for us); great drinks and food. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! I’m pleased to learn that you found our Front Desk Staff helpful and welcoming and the restaurant Nel Centro to your liking. We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    530
    176
    50
    27
See reviews for
275
772
158
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We took the train from Seattle to Portland to visit our daughter and stayed at Hotel Modera. We walked from the train station to the hotel; it was one mile precisely. Hotel Modera is relaxing, clean, quiet, upscale and pampering. The bar and restaurant were fabulous. The outside patio seating, with bar service, large gas fireplaces and wonderful landscaping, was really fun. Hotel Modera is our new "favorite" boutique hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Hotel Modera is a 5 Star experience. It was a girls night out exploring Portland's night life. The staff was amazing by directing us to great restaraunts, prompt service and treating us like stars. Valet services was outstanding and professional. The outdoor fire places is a must experience. The rooms comfortable and quiet. It was the best hotel experience I have ever had. I will be coming back.

Room Tip: The King size bedrooms facing the outdoor firepalces was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! I am very pleased that you chose to stay with Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland, and even more thrilled that your experience with us was the best you’ve ever had! I’m glad to know that our staff was helpful and prompt, and that you found our rooms comfortable and quiet. Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review. Every review helps! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I've stayed here twice after staying at their sister hotel in Seattle (Andra). Both are great! Nice location, clean rooms, knowledgable staff, modern design.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a classy hotel and experience. The staff was polite and excellent. The room was modern and comfortable. The bed was extremely cozy. It has a great atmosphere with the restaurant and live music. I would put it in the top 3 of places I have stayed in my whole life!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review! We are thrilled that your experience with Hotel Modera was a great one, and we look forward to having you with us again in the future!

Regards,

Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,803 - ₹ 21,540
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing