We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lucia(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (3,253)
Filter reviews
3,253 results
Traveller rating
2,499
556
131
48
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,499
556
131
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred starking suitewine hourhappy houranimal print robessocial hourwine receptionliving roommini barevery eveningvoodoo donutsheart of downtownwine tastingvalet staffthe pearlsitting areafood carts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,253 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at the Kimpton with out kids (ages 10 and 12). We loved the chess board in the lobby and the fact that hotel allows dogs. We didn’t have our with us but my daughter was happy to pet the ones we say. The hotel had a great location for us, including the fact that the rental car we needed for one of our days was only a block away. We had a suite with a door and a rollaway for one kid and the pullout sofa for the other. Plenty of space for a short stay where we were not in the room very much. We’d definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank 524julieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the spring break visit. As a father of two, I know how important it is to be welcoming to those traveling with children. There is nothing worse than getting the old stink eye and stuffy service when you show up with the kids. Thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing Kimpton.

Till next time,

Ryan (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Monaco is a well-appointed and well-run hotel. Anyone looking for extraordinary features or design might be disappointed, but travelers who want a classy, quiet, friendly hotel that is well-maintained and clean (and won't break the bank) will be very happy. Worth noting that they do a great job of accommodating kids and dogs too. Their 5pm guest social hour is awesome, and last weekend they even laid on (no pun intended) an Easter egg hunt for the kids. Staff are superb.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceblokeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh come on you meant that pun just a little bit, at least I hope so! Thanks for joining us for our Easter egg hunt, it was a blast. We appreciate the kind words and you taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience at the Monaco.

See you soon,

Ryan (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is surely quirky but cool as heck! I stayed for 3 days and got rooms for family members as well. They all loved their rooms and the convenience of the hotel location. We were able to enjoy using the bikes to enjoy the streets of downtown Portland. Yeah the homeless were all over but none gave us any issues. We enjoyed the evening entertainment along with some tasty adult beverages. The best part that made it that much more special was upon entering the room, we found a nice bottle of local pinot noir as a thank you and for celebrating my birthday. I have never stayed at any place that is so thoughtful of their guests. The personalized note welcoming us was an awesome touch. The front desk staff is stellar and they really do take care of their guests. I am not sure what the gals name was that checked us in but she was the one that wrote the sweet note. She stated she was a new employee. If and when we come back to Portland this is our hotel we will want to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2pinotnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for spending your birthday celebration at the Monaco and thanks for bringing the family! I'll be sure to find out who was so kind to send up that local Pinot to help the celebration get started.

Cheers,

Ryan (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel in Portland and is close to a lot of things you'd want for a visit. Service is good and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It's a quirkier style, in keeping with many Kimptons, but easy enough for a business trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank mpcSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate you choosing the Kimpton Monaco Portland. So happy to hear the staff took great care of you and our location was perfect for you knocking out that to do list.

See you soon,

Ryan (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shame on me, I have need fooled by Kimpton Hotels a few times. But with this stay, we will never again stay in one. Most Kimpton’s are old, musty, and location isn’t stellar. The are where Kimpton Hotel Monaco is has a lot of mentally ill, homeless people walking around and we didn’t feel safe. Housekeeping people didn’t know how to respect guests privacy, I could here them talking, making fun of a guest in the hallway even if my door was closed. Yes, they were that loud. I love Portland but next time, we will stay either Central or nearer Washington Park.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank loco4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry that you feel this way about our hotel. I will certainly address the issues you experienced with Housekeeping and share your thoughts about our city directly with the Mayor.

Kind Regards,

Ryan (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews