We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leftovers lasted all day...which is awesome”

Pine State Biscuits
Ranked #9 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Leftovers lasted all day...which is awesome”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The food here was great. We were hungry so we over ordered. Biscuits with honey and butter and jam as well as hash browns and egg and cheese sandwiches. It was great for vegetarians. When you walk in, you have to order and then wait for your food. We were lucky because there was not a long line so we were able to eat within 15 min but it seems to get crowded and when we left the line was longer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    217
    49
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Down home southern awesome”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Pine State Biscuits takes biscuits and gravy to a whole new level by adding fried chicken, bacon, and Tillamook cheddar, and calling it Reggie.

The Reggie has got to be one of the top 5 sandwiches I have ever had, and one of the top 5 breakfasts as well. It is just all kinds of fantastic.

Their menu is actually rather large (mostly centered around biscuits) but I have never strayed very far from The Reggie. Having said that, everything I have seen coming out of the kitchen looks great, and the other dishes that friends have ordered have met with high levels of approval.

To help wash it down they serve Stumptown coffee (of course), but I would recommend trying their sweet tea, or Xocolatl de David's Champ's Gourmet Chocolate Milk, both very good.

The staff are very friendly and always in high spirits, and it is not unusual to hear them burst into song if a particularity catchy tune pops up on the stereo.

The SE Belmont location is very small with limited seating. The turnover is fairly high, as people are well aware that others are waiting, but when the line is out the door, the odds of finding a seat are slim.

You have to bus your own table and serve yourself water, but if you have already waited through the line, you are likely not going to be scare off by a little effort... it is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Went here for breakfast. Had to wait a long time, no standing room (we knew that beforehand at least) and in the end, it was pretty lackluster. If it would have been tasty it would not have mattered that we had to wait so long but, it just wasn't that good. I didn't even finish my biscuit! I like the concept, it just didn't do it for me.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great biscuits!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We went in to place a "to go" order. They were so fast! Even on a week day in the middle of the day they were really busy--a sure sign of good food and good value for the money. Their biscuits were great and we enjoyed them a lot.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Libby_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reggie-Yum”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Fried chicken, bacon & cheese topped with gravy...need I say more? Belmont location gets really busy at lunch, first come, first served, but well worth it.
Gravy is spicy, but not Tabasco spicy, if you get my drift...Go, and wear a bib!

Helpful?
Thank PVLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pine State Biscuits also viewed

 

Been to Pine State Biscuits? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing