We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historical and Nature together for a great adventure

Dedicated to the Ancient People and the pioneers. There was war between the two cultures. The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Robby G C
,
Toronto, Canada
Free, gorgeous, AND it's where I live!

On any given day the beauty of Port Orford screams out: Look at Me! So many people who have never... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CrazyFishy
,
Port Orford, Oregon
Read all 93 reviews
  
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
56
26
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
26
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy access visitor center stretch your legs nice place to stop nice beach marine reserve nice rest stop south entrance redfish low tide welcome center quick stop see whales beautiful spot spectacular views small town oregon coast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Dedicated to the Ancient People and the pioneers. There was war between the two cultures. The settlers were two weeks besieged. They left in the night to Umpqua City and came back with weapons and 70 men.

There were historical content and nature content.

The beach had some driftwood and a massive rock on the beach and in the ocean.

I liked especially the dunes and the flowers.

Worthwhile to see!

Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

On any given day the beauty of Port Orford screams out: Look at Me! So many people who have never ventured this far-too bad for them!

Thank CrazyFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This park is located along 101 in downtown Port Orford. It has a large parking lot, is equipped with a visitor center and restrooms.
There is a trail to the beach and Battle Rock, there are also benches in which to sit and just enjoy the view.
Easiest to access traveling southbound. A nice place to stop and stretch the legs with a walk on the beach.

Thank SoCalOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a quick stop to take a break from the road and stretch your legs. Maybe have a picnic at the tables. It's just feet from hwy 101. Pretty view, interesting info, public restrooms, easy walk to beach. Worth the stop

Thank Jollywomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an easy walk to beach. The views are fantastic. Loved watching the sunsets and could see some fishing boats coming into shore.

Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The visitor center and restrooms were convenient and clean. The views were incredible. Probably a great place to see whales. We took the trail down to the nice, protected beach. Then we climbed battle rock and were rewarded with amazing views of the Pacific ocean and the unique boat harbor. We couldn't get all the way to the top because it was overgrown and there was poison oak, which I must avoid at all costs! Overall, this was a great stop in our coastal tour.

Thank 4cookie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Great beach. Good spot for a swim or a picnic. Interesting bit of history also. Worth a stop while driving down the Oregon Coast.

Thank Elcamino2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Overlooking a nice beach, a fishing harbor, and some gorgeous coastline, this little spot’s historic marker tells an interesting story. It corrects a long held local myth about an important incident in the city’s history.

Thank Wayne-Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Stop and breath the fresh air as you read the history details of the place. The pioneers and the native Indians are the ones who established the Port Orford town on the beautiful coast of Pacific.

Thank doinabrownell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This site is right off 101 and has free parking. You can walk the beach, climb the rock and eat at several restaurants nearby. There is great history hear to discover and the city celebrations are very elaborate for a small town. We were here for the Fourth of July celebration and they had activities all week including a huge parade were each entry through a out candy for the kids. We watched the fireworks and they went on and on! Plenty of camping near by and great fishing weather catching yourself or buying off the boats at the dock.

Dr. M

Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews