We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
166
181
97
64
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
181
97
64
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab dock crab cooking yaquina bay great view living room clams sea lions family vacation full kitchen crab pot nice room private balcony dvd player oregon coast crabbing docks condo
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

If you wanted something old,borrowed,blue and worn down.

If you wanted to experience mould around the windows.

If you wanted to crab and fish right off their dock and cook the catch right there in the giant stream pots. (Which IS pretty cool !)

You come here for a very specific reason and you know ahead of time. Not just a place to stay. We came here randomly without really researching it first.. our mistake.

The unit we stayed in was partially renovated. The bathroom was new. The deck appeared to have recently been redone too including the roof. It is a VERY nice deck overlooking the cove.The rest was quite worn down.

The staff were polite and very friendly. My guess is had we asked for anything they would have happily assisted.

We could hear the sea lions barking and Seagulls yacking all night - but that was expected after a few minutes in the room. It was quite wonderful being that close to nature. There was a sea otter regularly swimming around the docks marina. It’s a super easy walk to town.

Now that we know what to expect maybe we would have chosen differently.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Buzz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

I sincerely regret you had concerns with the unit you were in. If you wish to call the Embarcadero and ask for me, it would help to know so I may contact the owner with your comments and ask for improvements.
Thank you,
Gary G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Beautiful view of the bay set the tone for a wonderful stay. So may things to do from sauna to private crab dock. Lots of units, but a really quite time. Enjoy just watching the boats coming in and out of the marina, or the beautiful sunsets. They have a lot of nice features, like pots to boil your crabs, BBQ facilities, and a salt water pool. A great place to kickoff your experience of the Newport Historic waterfront, a shot walk away.

Room Tip: all rooms are on the waterfront and have great views as best we could tell.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed-Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning and Thank You for your wonderful comments. You captured the essence of the Embarcadero and the reason guests return time and again to enjoy the Oregon coast and Newport. We are pleased to have helped you enjoy your stay on the coast and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

I don’t know if I’m writing this is the right spot but I meet some family there that I have not seen for awhile and we had a wonderful bartender that made our evening extra special .. she went out of her way to make sure everyone there was happy and had a great experience .. diana said such wonderful things about the embarcadero , and made other customers feel welcome . If you need a place to relax and have excellent customer service .. go see diana in the lounge ❤️

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Trena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Trena, thank you so very much for your comments. Diana is an absolute GEM and I am so grateful she loves being here and that you enjoyed your visit.
Thanks so much!
Gary G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Just shy of being a dump.

There is no restaurant on site and hasn’t been since October 2017. So, Why is there still a sign for the Grille in front of the property??? The bar, as it were, closes at 10pm on the weekend and I think the bartender hates her job.

Very disappointed in cleanliness, housekeeping (wet towels in the washer), ice vending, etc. Meredith Lodging missed the boat on our visit.

The furnishings were either bought at a cheap second hand store or were grandma’s old hand-me-downs. The unit could use some paint & general maintenance.

No where near having “all the amenities of a premier resort,” as advertised.

After the booking fee, the cleaning fee, & the VRBO fee, we paid $300+/night and still had to abide by our 6 page rental agreement (yes, for 2 nights) by stripping the bed, taking out the garbage, washing the two glasses (one of which was chipped) that we used + doing housekeeping duties for the previous tenants. At least we got our laundry done. That was the best part of our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adah2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Many of your comments are just inaccurate. We will inform the owner of the unit you were in of your comments and concerns

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Our little family took a road trip through Oregon Washington and Nevada the week of August 12 , mostly staying at motel 6’s along the way. We found embarcadero and thought we’d try it. The price was not bad. I think the only problem was that there’s no air conditioning ? Boy it was hot ! Fans worked when we kept the outside door open . Hopefully that might change ? The views from our room were pretty great. We didn’t stay long enough to do much of anything. I think we’d stay there again just to do the crab thing that sounds fun. Staff were friendly parking kinda sucked but we got lucky and found a spot close to our room . Get some air conditioning though ! A resort like that could do well with that, nice place over all though

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hello Joe.
Thank you for your comments and review. Our property is 46 years old and at that time the ocean breeze was enough to cool things down. You came to Oregon during one of the hottest weeks on record! VERY unusual for that kind of heat on the coast.

I do hope you will come back and see us again.
Kind regards,
Gary G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews