We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competent, tasty”
Review of Sorella

Sorella
Ranked #17 of 124 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We were all Sorella for Valentines Day dinner. The place was nearly full at 6:00 pm. They take reservations only for groups of 6 or more. Service was quick and professional. The calamari appetizer was excellent. Super crispy, almost a tempura. Different aioli and a flavorful marinara for dip sauces. Rodney Strong sauv blanc was good, if slightly pricey at $9 a glass. Tagliatelle pasta with clam sauce was a bit too al dente, pretty chewy, but a nice clam sauce and tiny fresh clams. Fresh house made noodles would have been a better choice. It needed a vegetable side dish to counter the richness. The pork shank was wonderfully prepared, succulent, moist and almost sliding off the bone. Served with yummy creamy roasted fingerling spuds, almost raw split Brussels sprouts, figs.

We will return.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 868jayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017

The food there very fresh great price for the food and the atmosphere. The wait staff was very friendly.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank whiteford1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at Sorella's several times. Each time was fabulously good! Menu is small, yet exciting. Their pizzas are scrumptious! They also offer a Sunday dinner special. For $20 per person, you have your choice of one appetizer, one entree (pizza, pasta dish, or meat entree), and dessert! They have a full bar and an impressive wine menu. This is a fun place for couples, friends, or family. It's located in the beautiful Nye Beach area; just walking distance to the beach. This should be a dining experience to try! You'll be glad you did.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank tlj1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Tried this place right before Christmas. A Ceasar salad had not soft leafy greens, but instead thick chunks of sour iceberg lettuce. The wife had a rubbery Calamari appetizer that was so undercooked all the breading fell off. My pizza was mostly dry crust and sauce. I've had better out of a box. Everything here seems like pre-made, frozen, microwaved stuff. Watery desserts were flavorless. Can't see this place still being around in a year.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank volvomanpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We decided last minute to escape to the coast and spend the night. Our choice for restaurant was random and within walking distance to our hotel (Shilo). We were greatly pleased with the atmosphere, uncrowded table layout, and prices. We had dinner for two for $64 which included nice glass of wine (sangiovesa and capostrano), calamari appetizer, Gemelli w/pancetta and Beef tenderloin. Both were nice sized portions...and we love to eat.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richallen97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorella also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sorella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing