We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
152
96
30
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
96
30
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie book lovers reading room family style mulled wine virginia woolf literary theme third floor herman melville spiced rice mark twain other guests resident cat hemingway room harry potter love books library reading
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

My husband and I have a second home in Newport, but stumbled upon Sylvia Beach Hotel and decided to look around. We spent over $200 in the gift store and almost as much in the restaurant. The woman helping us at the gift shop was wonderful and the restaurant had good food. However, while waiting for the dinner "bell", we asked if we could see the library - because we love classic literature. The woman at the desk told us we couldn't go up there - it was for "customers only". What? We thought we were customers, after spending almost $400 that day. Nonetheless, we were determined to enjoy our dinner, but felt we needed to express our frustration at the rudeness and unprofessionalism we encountered this evening.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kleatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The Sylvia Beach Hotel is an established landmark in the literary world. It was built in 1912 and lovingly restored in the 1980’s to a very high level. It is named for Sylvia Beach, who operated her famous bookstore in Paris in the early 20th century. Each room in the restored Sylvia Beach Hotel is decorated around a literary theme, and imaginatively so. In our most recent visit (we’ve been there three times and would probably go more often, but the hotel is about 600 miles from our home in California) we stayed in the Agatha Christie Room, which is appropriately decorated around a mystery. The story is a former resident of the room, a writer, has left behind her notecards for her next book. She returns a year later and finds the cards, but elects to hide them, leaving clues as to where they may be found. It’s a wonderful conceit, but that’s not all. This room, as do many of the rooms, has massive wondows facing the ocean, comfortable sofa and chair, a fireplace, and it’s beautifully decorated. It’s a piece of heaven in this wild coast where the winters bring pounding rains and the summers are usually cool and foggy. The third floor of the hotel is given over to a reading and game room (the games being puzzles and the like, no ping pong or other noisy games). Here again, the reading room has massive windows overlooking the ocean. The theme rooms seem endless in subject. Think of a literary character who has achieved fame, and you’ll probably find a theme room dedicated to that character. There is even a Harry Potter Room established in recent years. All are executed with such thought and wit there’s no end to the delight. The owners and staff are superb. The older lady on duty when we checked in claimed to remember us from our last visit, about 10 years previously, and she might have done, she paid so much attention to the guests. Finally, by all means elect to have dinner in the hotel; the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. If you haven’t been here before you’ll be encouraged to play a game the owners have devised, and do try it; it’s great fun. Like all our favorite inns around the world meals are family style, and the people you’ll meet are all interesting and friendly (otherwise, they wouldn’t be in this place). We’ll be back, hopefully many times in our lives.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Triumph3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Theme rooms that put you right in the mood of them. Wonderful breakfast, right on the beach for your enjoyment. There is a dinner meal if you want that is extra but worth it. Located near local sites to visit.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank chuckben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

I love the quaint hotel. Each room is a different author. I am in the Alice walker room. Breakfast is included . They have a cozy library. It is right on the beach so the views from many rooms are great. There is no Wi-Fi...it is a great place to disconnect and enjoy the company of others.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed there on a family trip to Portland. Even though there was quite the construction work going on it was a fun place to be. No phones. No TV. No internet. Just a relaxing time. The rooms are unique to say the least. One of the best things of the hotel was sitting in the library watching the sun set over the Pacific with a cup of tea and a book to read, and a very friendly cat watching it all.

The only downside was the ADA accommodations which we needed for my 88 year old mother in law. Her room was on the ground floor and the room had adequate accommodations. But because of the steep stairs she couldn't walk upstairs to the library or downstairs to the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDHydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews