We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
213
178
53
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
178
53
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor free popcorn continental breakfast great view nye beach bagels ocean view paved path floor room beach access nice balcony heated pool workout room the north end double queen room mini fridge within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This was the least expensive oven front hotel I could find in Newport. At half the cost of Hallmark, it was well worth the price.
You do have to cross the street to get to the beach, but the trail to go down is right in front and is paved and lit up at night.
Great location for splitting time between Nye beach and Newport, which we love.
The only rooms with ocean views are on the top floor.
The beds need updating, uncomfortable!
New shower heads would be nice too, I like good pressure.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you for the nice review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and value. I appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

We have stayed at The Whaler two times in 2017. We have had excellent service both times. Just the right amount of donuts and orange juice for breakfast and they offer popcorn all day! Our kids enjoy the pool and spa multiple times each stay. They love dogs!! A++

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordy and Candi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review! It is so nice to hear that your family enjoys our excellent service and accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Stopped in in need of a sleepover on the way down the coast. Think I talked with Devon and Karen, who were both super. Got the third floor and finally looked up to see the sky in Oregon while there, as Orion came out that evening. Was worth the stay and I'd do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am delighted that you enjoyed the great view and friendly staff. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

After many visits to Newport, we decided to try a new motel. The Whaler is within the city yet away from traffic and all rooms overlook the ocean. Our room, on the third floor for the best view, enable us to see whale spouts and the evening sunset. It was scrupulously clean, quiet, and adequately heated, although (like many motels on the cool coast) it lacked air conditioning. Coffee and popcorn were provided gratis in the lobby. Our one complaint: No complete breakfast. The "continental" breakfast which one must eat in one's room on the table and chair provided. It consisted of hyper-sweet. soggy Danish pastry, fruit, and the option of microwaved oatmeal.

Room Tip: Third floor is a bit more expensive but offers clearest views. An elevator is provided.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lambert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your nice review! It is great that you were able to see whale spouts and enjoy the beautiful sunset. Thank you for staying with us! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This was a great find: at the north end of the main beach within easy walking distance of the Nye Beach area. The rooms are large, with a table & chairs & a balcony where you can share a glass of wine & watch the sunset. A short walk down to the beach itself where you can walk for miles.

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floor on the beach side, great views of the sunset
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berrywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am so happy that you enjoyed relaxing on the balcony and exploring our area! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Newport. Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews