We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon dinner - fantastic ”
Review of Painted Lady

Painted Lady
Reserve with OpenTable
Painted Lady is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2nd Street
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I booked this restaurant at the suggestion of Vineyard Inn for my daughter and her husband on their wedding night. The called the day before to confirm rez along with names, dietary restrictions etc. as it was a special occasion they took extra steps to ensure a great meal. All the courses were fantastic, steak was delicious and they were served a special little custom dessert. Thanks for making a memorable night on a very special occasion.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our 8 course dinner w wine pairing experience....and an “experience” is exactly what it was. Everything was wonderful - the entrance greeting, the staff, the courses (so unique), cocktails and wine pairing (so unique also). Only other restaurant we would compare it to is Picasso in Vegas and my husband and I both agreed that Painted Lady topped it when compared to the food and wine. The outside and inside decor and the views are nothing to write home about (historic house off a side street in a smal city) but would absolutely recommend and would go again for a special occasion. Pricey $$$$ so beware to pay top dollar but 100% lovely and worth it.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank KatieMerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

After having a wonderful meal at The Painted Lady a few years ago, we returned last week. Aside from the gracious Maitre D' Bernie, nothing was good about our experience. This is a dreadful restaurant that is obviously living on its past laurels. One of us has some dietary restrictions (no pork, shellfish or mushrooms) and this was made very clear at the time our reservation was made. This was accommodated only with considerable and obvious reluctance by our server and we were made very uncomfortable by her manner. Indeed, one course was served twice on the tasting menu to my guest rather than making any effort to provide even a simple substitute. Furthermore, the food served was at best mediocre, and almost all hot food was served barely lukewarm. Absolutely nothing was either delicious or special in any way. The service was extremely pretentious and very seriously flawed. Our check was brought without even asking if we wanted coffee or an after dinner drink. And...for this dreadful experience, the tab was $310 for the two of us. This was for the shorter 5 course menu, an inexpensive half bottle of wine, and an undeserved 20% tip. With so many terrific restaurants in the area, The Painted Lady should be avoided!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank josephl362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at The Painted Lady in Newberg. Still the best restaurant in Oregon. We highly recommend it for Portland and Salem friends for special occasions. Tasting menu with wine pairings.

They have updated the decor and furniture - not a radical change, just an updating and refreshing that works well. The food, as always is very good with a couple of standout, memorable dishes each visit. We recommend (and alway get) the wine pairing with the tasting menu but there is a large wine list and full bar as well.

The service is extraordinary, professional yet friendly. They remember us from previous visits. Each course is explained well, as is the accompanying wine pairing. You have an ongoing pleasant conversation about food and wine with folks who are so passionate and knowledgable. They also expertly accommodate my wife's shellfish allergy.

The restaurant is a diamond in the rough in a restored Victorian home that is lovely but it is located in a less than charming part of Newberg. The juxtaposition is a bit jarring on arrival but quickly forgotten once you are inside.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GipperPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Our party of seven arrived at 830pm and for the next two hours - experienced both food and complimenting wine selections we will never forget! What an evening - and as they offer you the option to choose your own wine versus pre-selected wine pairings, we suggest you follow their lead. I believe by the end of the evening - we had savored a total of nine courses. The Dungeness soup was to die for - noting several of us could have ended there! We continued - and were so glad to enjoy the next several selections - all with their own unique and remarkable taste. The wines that accompanied each selection were outstanding. We were very happy that they had paired the courses in advanced - and also appreciated a couple very special tastings too. We all agreed - a dining experience we will never forget. Our thanks to our staff of two who served our table for an outstanding experience of both food and wine.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank dougk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Painted Lady? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing