We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Dune Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Manzanita
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Cabins(Manzanita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Rockaway Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockaway Beach Resort(Rockaway Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Motel(Rockaway Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Haven Motel(Rockaway Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Stay Motel(Rockaway Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
19
17
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
17
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We LOVE This place. Our dog is always welcome the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. For the price there are many many extras and accomodations. We love it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The owner, Brian is so sweet (we did not get the chance to meet his wife), the room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. They have a great collection of VHS movies and board games that you can use during your stay. They have beach towels and treats for your dogs and beach toys for your kids to use. The quaint downtown is right there; the cute little grocery store is just about a block away, as well as cafes and shops. And the beautiful 7-mile beach is just about 3 blocks away! A great value for the price! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A stay at the spa resorts has it's place, but the San Dune Inn offers something the new resorts can't. For one, it is a great value for a beach trip. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it is also not contrived or artificial. It's an old school Oregon coast motel but unlike some that have decayed, the San Dune is well maintained, clean and friendly. The owners clearly care that you enjoy your stay. Speaking of which, the owner Brian is genuine, friendly and full of inside advice on where to get different types of meals, drink a beer or wine or get a nice coffee. He is a pleasure to talk with and struck me as the type of coastal resident and business owner who is an integral part of the Oregon coast experience. The motel is situated one block off the main street so it's quiet but still central to everything the little town of Manzanita has to offer. They had some bikes and other beach-related toys that customers could use. We did not partake but did take them up on the extra towels to dry off our dog after a wet hike on the beach. The hotel is dog friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

OK, so we planned a last minute trip to the Oregon coast and the San Dune was the only place in Manzanita that had a room available for the entire time we wanted to stay. Being lazy I didn't want to book seperate places and settled for this little motel. That being said, we did expect a bit more, and a little less, than we got.
We spent 5 nights in a kitchenette room #3. The beds were adequate and the place seemed clean enough but everything was very old worn out and musty smelling. The old tiny couch had plywood under the cushins to keep it from sagging. The shower head in the bathroom put out more water than I have ever seen in a hotel but it was litterally at chin height and I had to scrunch over in the tiny shower in order to wash my hair. The kitchen chairs were a mix of metal stacking chairs purchased from Costco, no joke. The ladies might find it difficult to do their makeup in the warped bathroom mirror and the other one in the hallway had no light around it and was impossible to see yourself in anyway.
The owner is a very nice English chap who has all sorts of VHS movies to loan you and will give you advice on local places to eat etc. He is also happy to let you keep your dog with you, which we did.
As far as getting more than we expected, nobody wants to come back to their room and find a big meaty turd left behind by the cleaning crew. But I guess if you gotta go; flushing would have been thoughtful.
The price is way out of line for what you get even with the loaner bikes, free vhs flicks and no matter how much you might like Bryan the owner.
Cheers and good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

San Dune Hotel is off the beaten track in the little beach town of Manzanita, but only by a couple blocks. It's inexpensive, very dog-friendly, and clean enough, and the shower has good water pressure--no tub. Kitchen has pretty much everything, circa 1990, cute and functional. The futon bed in the living room needs to be replaced. It's old and permadirty. We hauled out the temperpedic mattress from one of the beds and put it on the futon--surprisingly comfortable. The owner was pleasant and unobtrusive.

All in all, San Dune is a very reasonable alternative to the more expensive places that have 7-day minimum stays in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews