We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back for the charm and cleanliness”
Review of San Dune Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Dune Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep coming back for the charm and cleanliness”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have never been disappointed in the many times I've been here. The sheets are ironed, the beds are comfy, the place could not be cleaner. The rooms are all different depending upon what you need and what's available at the moment. Some have kitchens, some do not. I can walk easily within a couple of minutes to the grocery and at least 3 places to get coffee and to the pub for a drink or the various shops and spas. I love the way Brian, the Owner, makes everyone feel right at home and that my dog can stay with me. This is a very laid back experience and NOT the Hilton. And I'm glad about that.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different ... decide what you need and ask for that. At minimum you will get a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We LOVE This place. Our dog is always welcome the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. For the price there are many many extras and accomodations. We love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The owner, Brian is so sweet (we did not get the chance to meet his wife), the room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. They have a great collection of VHS movies and board games that you can use during your stay. They have beach towels and treats for your dogs and beach toys for your kids to use. The quaint downtown is right there; the cute little grocery store is just about a block away, as well as cafes and shops. And the beautiful 7-mile beach is just about 3 blocks away! A great value for the price! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A stay at the spa resorts has it's place, but the San Dune Inn offers something the new resorts can't. For one, it is a great value for a beach trip. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it is also not contrived or artificial. It's an old school Oregon coast motel but unlike some that have decayed, the San Dune is well maintained, clean and friendly. The owners clearly care that you enjoy your stay. Speaking of which, the owner Brian is genuine, friendly and full of inside advice on where to get different types of meals, drink a beer or wine or get a nice coffee. He is a pleasure to talk with and struck me as the type of coastal resident and business owner who is an integral part of the Oregon coast experience. The motel is situated one block off the main street so it's quiet but still central to everything the little town of Manzanita has to offer. They had some bikes and other beach-related toys that customers could use. We did not partake but did take them up on the extra towels to dry off our dog after a wet hike on the beach. The hotel is dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

OK, so we planned a last minute trip to the Oregon coast and the San Dune was the only place in Manzanita that had a room available for the entire time we wanted to stay. Being lazy I didn't want to book seperate places and settled for this little motel. That being said, we did expect a bit more, and a little less, than we got.
We spent 5 nights in a kitchenette room #3. The beds were adequate and the place seemed clean enough but everything was very old worn out and musty smelling. The old tiny couch had plywood under the cushins to keep it from sagging. The shower head in the bathroom put out more water than I have ever seen in a hotel but it was litterally at chin height and I had to scrunch over in the tiny shower in order to wash my hair. The kitchen chairs were a mix of metal stacking chairs purchased from Costco, no joke. The ladies might find it difficult to do their makeup in the warped bathroom mirror and the other one in the hallway had no light around it and was impossible to see yourself in anyway.
The owner is a very nice English chap who has all sorts of VHS movies to loan you and will give you advice on local places to eat etc. He is also happy to let you keep your dog with you, which we did.
As far as getting more than we expected, nobody wants to come back to their room and find a big meaty turd left behind by the cleaning crew. But I guess if you gotta go; flushing would have been thoughtful.
The price is way out of line for what you get even with the loaner bikes, free vhs flicks and no matter how much you might like Bryan the owner.
Cheers and good luck.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.4 km away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
17.8 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
17.4 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
17.7 km away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Dune Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Dune Inn

Property: San Dune Inn
Address: 428 Dorcas Ln, Manzanita, OR 97130-9019
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
San Dune Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing