We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school, in a good way, Oregon Coast motel”
Review of San Dune Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Dune Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A stay at the spa resorts has it's place, but the San Dune Inn offers something the new resorts can't. For one, it is a great value for a beach trip. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it is also not contrived or artificial. It's an old school Oregon coast motel but unlike some that have decayed, the San Dune is well maintained, clean and friendly. The owners clearly care that you enjoy your stay. Speaking of which, the owner Brian is genuine, friendly and full of inside advice on where to get different types of meals, drink a beer or wine or get a nice coffee. He is a pleasure to talk with and struck me as the type of coastal resident and business owner who is an integral part of the Oregon coast experience. The motel is situated one block off the main street so it's quiet but still central to everything the little town of Manzanita has to offer. They had some bikes and other beach-related toys that customers could use. We did not partake but did take them up on the extra towels to dry off our dog after a wet hike on the beach. The hotel is dog friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for San Dune Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

OK, so we planned a last minute trip to the Oregon coast and the San Dune was the only place in Manzanita that had a room available for the entire time we wanted to stay. Being lazy I didn't want to book seperate places and settled for this little motel. That being said, we did expect a bit more, and a little less, than we got.
We spent 5 nights in a kitchenette room #3. The beds were adequate and the place seemed clean enough but everything was very old worn out and musty smelling. The old tiny couch had plywood under the cushins to keep it from sagging. The shower head in the bathroom put out more water than I have ever seen in a hotel but it was litterally at chin height and I had to scrunch over in the tiny shower in order to wash my hair. The kitchen chairs were a mix of metal stacking chairs purchased from Costco, no joke. The ladies might find it difficult to do their makeup in the warped bathroom mirror and the other one in the hallway had no light around it and was impossible to see yourself in anyway.
The owner is a very nice English chap who has all sorts of VHS movies to loan you and will give you advice on local places to eat etc. He is also happy to let you keep your dog with you, which we did.
As far as getting more than we expected, nobody wants to come back to their room and find a big meaty turd left behind by the cleaning crew. But I guess if you gotta go; flushing would have been thoughtful.
The price is way out of line for what you get even with the loaner bikes, free vhs flicks and no matter how much you might like Bryan the owner.
Cheers and good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

San Dune Hotel is off the beaten track in the little beach town of Manzanita, but only by a couple blocks. It's inexpensive, very dog-friendly, and clean enough, and the shower has good water pressure--no tub. Kitchen has pretty much everything, circa 1990, cute and functional. The futon bed in the living room needs to be replaced. It's old and permadirty. We hauled out the temperpedic mattress from one of the beds and put it on the futon--surprisingly comfortable. The owner was pleasant and unobtrusive.

All in all, San Dune is a very reasonable alternative to the more expensive places that have 7-day minimum stays in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Even though the San Dune Inn is not on the beach, it still makes for a nice quiet getaway. It's only a block off the main street in town and just a 5 block walk to the beach which stretches for 7 miles. Brian, the innkeeper, is quite the guy. After check-in, he gives you a map of town. He'll tell you where the restaurants are and tell you which ones are not recommended by previous guests. After that, he even takes the time to show you your room. Brian also has a lot of things in the office that can be borrowed for your stay. Movies, games, music, beach toys, bikes, etc for no charge. There's also things your dog will enjoy too. The rooms themselves are old and they do show their age in places but they do make a cozy getaway. We rented a kitchen unit and there are lot of dishes, utensils, and other basics to make your stay easier. The only downsides were there could have been more light in places and there were no phones. If you have cell phones, the area gets a good signal, so you should be OK. All in all the San Dune is a nice cozy place in a nice cozy town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We enjoyed our one night stay at the San Dune for what we thought was the right price. When we entered the room, we were a bit worried that it would be noisy, but it wasn't bad for a motel (Maybe because we had quite neighbors). The loudest noises were the mini fridge and the ceiling fan. The room was comfortable, had a good shower, and was clean enough for a small room near the beach. The owner was very friendly, helped us find a good place to eat (Terra Cotta Cafe), had beach chairs to borrow, and a huge collection of free VCR movies (not DVD but it really didn't matter-the players are dvd/vcr so bring your own). We were able to relax, walk the town, walk the miles of beach, eat well, and sleep well. Usually when we visit the coast towns we stay in rental homes/condos or places with a few more amenities. We choose to get away from the heat on a whim and the San Dune was the only place on the North coast with a room due to a cancellation. We were glad it was available and will stay there again. We left the San Dune pleasantly surprised. A good deal and a place to sleep after a day of Manzanita exploration!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rundoites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.4 km away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
260 reviews
0.4 km away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
102 reviews
17.3 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,581 reviews
31.0 km away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 km away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Dune Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Dune Inn

Address: 428 Dorcas Ln, Manzanita, OR 97130-9019
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
San Dune Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing