We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Over the St. Patrick's Day weekend my friend and I stayed in a wonderful room with a marvelous shower, and super view. The staff was friendly, helpful and prompt. I usually stay at a condo while in this once quaint, now bustling small city, but this time around I found that "It is Better at the Beach!" Overall the experience was grand and the mint soap was a nice touch in the bathrooms. For me the bed was also nice as it was what I prefer, firm and relatively new. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mross_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    128
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
90
256
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
warrenton, OR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

They have a captive audience and it shows. I splurged on the "Jr. suites" and it was probably good that I did. Except that the reason I finally chose to do so was because I called and they claimed that the suites had their own spa, sauna, exercise and steam rooms.

So of course, when I showed up,
The steam room was broken.
The sauna was broken.
The spa was the temperature of bath water. (aka "broken")

The exercise room is 2 treadmills, a elliptical machine and bike with some free weights.

The room itself was OK, and had a good view.
The restaurants were terribly overpriced, but I did think they gave you a fair amount of food. I guess they have figured out that most gamblers aren't willing to travel that far in the rain to go to a different restaurant. There was one small caveat to this - they had a steak dinner for two on Wednesday that was a decent price and a good meal. . . and apparently it was the only good deal around - once 5 PM rolled around there was a line out the door, through the bar/lounge and into the casino.

I'm not exactly a rabid anti-smoker, but it actually got to me here. The casino is absolutely filled with smoke. There is a small area of slot machines that they label non-smoking, but it is really just one big room so the smoke goes everywhere regardless of the little sign that says the smoke is only supposed to go to the left and not to the right. You can't walk anywhere in the casino building without going through a haze of smoke. If you have a problem with this, I would strongly suggest that you look elsewhere.

The employees were friendly enough, there was plenty of parking, and the wi-fi works in the suites (but apparently there is no wi-fi in the main hotel).

Room Tip: Go for the suites if you are spending any time in the rooms - but you may want to ask if the spa, sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate a friends 40th Birthday. For the price this hotel is not worth it! Oh sure, it is ocean front, but it is Oregon, 85% of the year it's cold and cloudy. The room had a piece of the threshold and carpet missing as you walked in. It was clean but very outdated. The entertainment center was shoved into the corner and you had to pull the TV out and turn it 90 degrees to watch it from the bed. Not a good layout. The bed was the worst! It was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor and the pillows felt like they were full of squished cotton balls. We stayed out late at the casino and at 8:30am I could hear housekeeping going up and down the walkway and stairs which were right next to our door. No complimentary breakfast either. One would think with this being a 'Casino Resort' they would spend some $$$ to update and put in a comfortable bed and pillows. #willnoteverstayhereagain!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, Pelican Shores is a good choice but away from Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hotel room shows its age. No Wi-Fi. Old t.v. and not very many channels. Small coffee pot. No continental breakfast. Right on the beach, but you can do better. Casino was average. Way average. Had to call the shuttle to get to the casino as it was very windy,cold and rainy. Save your money and stay somewhere else. Visit the casino if that is your thing. All coupons and promotions were dumb. Sign in to get the players card? It gets you nothing as far as a better rate is concerned.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gourmet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay, play and dine trip to the casino resort, we took our well behaved dog and had a great time, the room although smoking and pet friendly was clean and did not have any noticeable odors, the water pressure in the shower was incredible so good that I didn't want to get out. The package we had was awesome and to top it all we even came home having not spent all our money in the casino! Our room was on the ground floor and looked right out at the ocean and we even had great internet connection too.
We will most definitely be returning in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: I f you are looking for a 5 star Ritz I suggest you go somewhere else, if you are down to earth and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hussar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
1.3 km away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.3 km away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 km away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.4 km away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
3.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Property: Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Address: 1501 NW 40th Pl, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4811 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 5,717
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Winds Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chinook Winds Casino Resort Hotel is an outstanding option for beachfront accommodations in Lincoln City. Our warm and friendly staff is ready to welcome you to our resort with multiple restaurants, arcade, child care facility, casino, 18-hole golf course, fitness center and complimentary on-site shuttle service. Hunt for glass floats on the beach, curl up with a cup of coffee and watch the waves, hit a bucket of balls in our indoor driving range, take in a show or enjoy the 24-hour gaming action. It is all available to you at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, where it is better at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chinook Winds Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinook Winds Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing