We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
112
117
57
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
117
57
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front great view no elevator room was clean beach access ceiling fan new carpet a ground floor room small bathroom oregon coast bottom floor mid week get away great room love this place sailors deck
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Pros:
Oceanfront
Comfy bed
Clean carpet

Cons:
Room totally not done!
Toilet not sealed OR BOLTED to the floor!
Framing not quite finished
Tile not grouted

But we got a room right away on a weekend in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onyxkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place may not be four star but if you want VERY comfortable and right on the ocean at an affordable price then this is the place. Rooms look to be remodeled in the past 2 years and they were spotlessly clean. The room had a jacuzzi tub that was OUTSTANDING. The managers were new to the facility and yet they seemed like they new all the right places to go. That is an added feature you don't often get. We would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Every room is good but stay in the jacuzzi room for a relaxing time with an awesome view of the ocean straight from the tub!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Went to the beach for a quiet getaway and found this place. Couldn't be any happier. Friendly managers set me up with a fantastic king room with a jacuzzi tub on the top floor. Bed was comfortable, new furniture was nice, and I was surprised to see a flat screen tv in the room, was expecting a fat box. Besides the cheesy wifi password (those who have stayed there know what I mean), Sailor Jack offers a good deal for good rooms. I'll be returning in the fall.

Although I didn't need it, I should mention that there is no swimming pool. Hence the 1/5 rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chihwa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I’ve stayed at Sailor Jack’s five times over the past few years. That’s not necessarily because it’s the best place to stay on the Oregon Coast. It’s more due to my husband’s fond memories of staying here as a kid, and the amazing views for very little money. Let’s face it: People generally aren’t going to the Oregon coast for luxury travel; they’re going because they appreciate the outdoors. If you don’t want to spend a ton of money, and you don’t mind few amenities and an outdated motel room (including questionable handyman work), this motel will be great for you. Every room faces the ocean, parking is free, wifi is free, rooms have DVD players (and a RedBox close by), it’s fairly quiet, and you can leave your window open all night and listen to the ocean waves. Plus, you walk out the hotel, walk down some steep steps, and you’re right on the beach. I'd personally rather stay in a non-luxurious room and see and hear the ocean all night than stay in a more updated spot with parking lot views, and for that reason, I give Sailor Jack's 4 stars.

Room Tip: While first floors might offer hot tubs or fire places, save money and stay on the third floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeannch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Since the supposed "face lift" prices have sky rocketed and all you have to show for it is higher pricing "almost double" and some new light fixtures. I had stayed there many, many times and have recommended numerous people to them for business. DO NOT waste your money here. It is loud and they do a bad job at policing the place. Once the office closes at 9 or 10 PM you don't see them until the next morning at check out. The old managers were the greatest. They always went out of their way to please. I am so sad to see them go!!!! As for current management they need a few hospitality courses. It really makes us sad that it took to people to ruin such a great business.

Room Tip: A room down the road would be better
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonee69yh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

I am terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Sailor Jack's. We did do a complete renovation of the rooms including new furniture, carpet, bedding, and interior. On the weekend our rates are slightly higher than mid-week. While the lobby does close at 10:30 pm there is always a night phone and a number you can call from your room to get immediate assistance. I hope that the next time you come to the coast you will give us another chance, as we do put an emphasis on Guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews