We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 66
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Grande Inn(La Grande)
US$ 65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Greenwell Motel(La Grande)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 206
US$ 161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn(La Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
13
30
27
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
30
27
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwalking distancehard boiled eggsincluded breakfastdefinitely stay here againthe breakfast areathe ground floorexercise roomnice breakfastscentseattle
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Nice comfortable rooms. Included breakfast but it was very minimal. Friendly staff. Helpful in suggesting where to dine. Close to fast food and ice cream. Have stayed here before and will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look foreword to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We've stayed at Sandman many times while visiting relatives in the LaGrande area. The desk personnel are friendly and gracious, and the rooms are clean and well maintained. The facility is quickly accessible from both I84 and Island Avenue, which is a main street in the area, yet the rooms remain quiet and peaceful. The wireless internet functions well. We have tried other motels when Sandman was full, but Sandman is our favorite.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stephenmA1785LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, We strive to make our guests comfortable and happy, we are very happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us, we look forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I came down from Seattle with my family to view the solar eclipse, and needed a basic, comfortable roadside motel. I'd never traveled to La Grande before, and I was a little concerned about this place, as the "America's Best Value" brand has a hit or miss reputation.

We were pleased.

This is a well-maintained older hotel with significant updates, friendly staff, and a pool for our kids to enjoy. The wifi was solid, our room was clean with brightly colored walls. Absolutely nothing fancy here, but solid all the way around. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gfselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, guest satisfaction is our number 1 priority. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

On the plus side the Internet was superstrong and they allow dogs on a the end of the motel. The front desk people were very nice. But you know the people you interact with the most are the cleaning staff. They are the face of the company. They didn't quite get that the customer is important. The biggest complaint is that the condition of the motel was a two star. My advice is to charge a bit more. That way you have enough money to keep it looking nice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank leaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we strive for guest satisfaction, i would also like to thank you for making me aware that guest see the cleaning staff as the face of our motel. I will bring this to the attention of all our cleaning staff. We look forward to serving you in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We came down from Washington to watch the eclipse and the people here were very good to us and our 2 dogs. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The refrigerator and microwave were a much appreciated amenity. The pet area is convenient and perfectly maintained. They even kept track of a laptop charger we left in the room and didn't get back for until two day after we checked out! Great staff, lovely hotel. We will definitely stay here again anytime we are in Eastern OR!

Room Tip: Because our reservation specified that we had 2 dogs with us, everything was ready for our buddies as well as us :)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbi2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we strive for guest satisfaction, as a guest you are our number 1 priority! We look forward to serving you and your family in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews