We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gear-Heads and Families Welcome!”

Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The WAAAM Air & Auto Museum has one of the largest collections of still-flying antique aeroplanes and still-driving antique automobiles in the country. The items on display at this museum are not only full of history, they're full of LIFE! Enjoy over two acres of indoor exhibit space.
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This museum is extremely cool! For a person like myself who appreciates antique planes and cars, this place has it all! The coolest feature of WAAAM is that all of the planes in the building have to be able to fly again in order to stay there! The eclectic amount of planes and cars is by far one of the best and very much a place for families and friends to come and enjoy, I work with the community and meet thousands of guests a week and I usually name drop WAAAM multiple times a week for people looking for something cool to do!

1  Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing. We really appreciate you spreading the word about WAAAM as folks telling other folks (either in person or on a site like this) is the number one way people find out about us. For those that want to know more our website is a great resource too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old cars"
in 30 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 17 reviews
"classic cars"
in 9 reviews
"flying condition"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 7 reviews
"military vehicles"
in 7 reviews
"planes fly"
in 5 reviews
"muscle cars"
in 5 reviews
"huge collection"
in 5 reviews
"every item"
in 4 reviews
"car buff"
in 4 reviews
"fishing lures"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 9 reviews
"nice gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"answer questions"
in 6 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 7 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

WAAAM was celebrating its 10th Anniversary with a Fly-in. The event attracted over 500 planes last year, but due to the Eagle Creek Fire in the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, attendance was way down. Regardless, we had a great time at the event – in the hangers we saw hundreds of antique planes, gliders, and antique cars, motorcycles, and Military vehicles. Then there was more activity on the airport ramp where we visited the Fly-in planes, and took a ride in a 1914 Ford Model T Depot Hack. Every 2nd Saturday there is a special event, or you can stop in any other day to view this large collection. It a great experience for all, there is even a children’s activity area that our grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed.

Thank Dan-Insur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the review. The Annual Hood River Fly-In is always the weekend after Labor Day at WAAAM. We were impressed with the number of pilots that braved the weather to attend the 2017 event. As you experienced, on event days that don't have as strong an airplane presence as we'd like, there are still plenty of antique and classic autos to go around and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

While this isn't my preferred "history" museum, this place is full of living history. All the aircraft are in flying condition, if not will be soon, as are the autos in running condition. There is a great kids area to keep them occupied, and it's air conditioned! The fly in was an amazing experience this year to see the Jenny fly, will be back. Just wish there were more stories available on the history of the aircraft and the pilots that flew them.

Thank Cassandy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing. As the history on display at WAAAM is always on the move (either out flying and driving or being shuffled around on the display floor) we have put many of your typical historical information signs up digitally on our website and are posting more of this type of information all the time. Our docents also have much of this information on hand too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Possibly one of the best hidden gems in the Pacific Northwest. You miss this you loose. No matter who you are you will be impressed by the quality of this museum. Ill go back many times. Plan about 5 hours for your first visit. Wonderful facilities for Seniors and handicapped. A true gem. Great cookies too. Staff is superb.

Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the review. WAAAM has an annual membership program for folks that want to support us or know they will be visiting often. If you visit and decide you want to go the membership route on the same day we will apply your admission expense to the membership too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

everyone that i have taken there is blown away, not only by the collection, but by the friendliness and knowledge of the volunteers

Thank ArleneBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing. On the Second Saturday of every month we get some of our collection out to fly and drive. It is a great way to touch the past and see living history with your own eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing