We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss this”

Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The WAAAM Air & Auto Museum has one of the largest collections of still-flying antique aeroplanes and still-driving antique automobiles in the country. The items on display at this museum are not only full of history, they're full of LIFE! Enjoy over two acres of indoor exhibit space.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Possibly one of the best hidden gems in the Pacific Northwest. You miss this you loose. No matter who you are you will be impressed by the quality of this museum. Ill go back many times. Plan about 5 hours for your first visit. Wonderful facilities for Seniors and handicapped. A true gem. Great cookies too. Staff is superb.

Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the review. WAAAM has an annual membership program for folks that want to support us or know they will be visiting often. If you visit and decide you want to go the membership route on the same day we will apply your admission expense to the membership too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old cars"
in 30 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 17 reviews
"classic cars"
in 9 reviews
"flying condition"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 7 reviews
"military vehicles"
in 7 reviews
"planes fly"
in 5 reviews
"muscle cars"
in 5 reviews
"huge collection"
in 5 reviews
"every item"
in 4 reviews
"car buff"
in 4 reviews
"fishing lures"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 9 reviews
"nice gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"answer questions"
in 6 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 7 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

everyone that i have taken there is blown away, not only by the collection, but by the friendliness and knowledge of the volunteers

Thank ArleneBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing. On the Second Saturday of every month we get some of our collection out to fly and drive. It is a great way to touch the past and see living history with your own eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Don't miss this amazing destination for antique airplanes, cars and equipment.....all in a period setting that takes you back in time.
Exquisitely restored and air worth planes from the past....an impressive collection anywhere in the world....
Highly recommend a few hours of enjoyment..

Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for the review. WAAAM has had visitors from all 50 states and over 70 countries in the world. Visitors are encouraged to put a pin in our "where are you from map" in our lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My family and I stopped in at this museum on our way to the Oregon coast. Unfortunately, we were under a time constraint and only had about 90 minutes to "run" through the museum. During our visit we actually met the founder and spent a few moments hearing him tell us about the aircraft collection. If you are interested in old airplanes from the early 1900s up to WWII then this is a must visit museum. The collection of early Stearman biplanes as well as Waco biplanes is worth the visit alone! The WWII collection centers mainly around liaison type aircraft. There are no WWII fighters typical of other aircraft museums.

Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing. With just over 3.5 acres of indoor display space and over 325+ large objects people can find themselves spending the whole day at the museum. Fortunately tickets are set up so you can come and go during the day if needed and many folks also opt for memberships so that they can take the whole year to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

When we arrived in Hood River, several people, beginning with the tourism office, recommended we visit this museum. We are so glad we listened to them! It is an amazing place, and it took us parts of two days to see it all. Their car and plane collections are outstanding, and everything is well-documented and well laid out. The place is attractive and clean, with interesting displays on every wall. Volunteers are always around to answer questions and share their knowledge of the collection. We even happened to be there on a day they were offering free rides in the antique cars. What a treat! Don't miss this.

Thank bebe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for the review. We love to show off our living history at WAAAM. These action days are always on the Second Saturday of every month but some times we throw in a few extra bonus days of driving or flying to exercise the collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing