We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eugene University Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eugene University Inn & Suites
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I headed to Eugene in March to watch a tennis exhibition at the new basketball arena. The University Inn is located right across the street (a busy street), so location was ideal.

Not the most expensive or posh hotel, but a great value. The room smelled a little funky (like they were trying to cover cigarette smoke or something) but nothing that bothered us too much. As noted in some other reviews, I wouldn't call this hotel dirty, just a bit run-down. Well worn/used, etc. Great if you are on a budget.

Breakfast included in the morning! Always a plus. Service at the front desk was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phishua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate comments and concerns you have regarding our establishment. We apologize that you found your room dissatisfying and we have since changed the cleaning supplies we use in hopes that this problem will not occur in the future. We are glad you found our location and service ideal as we strive to provide excellent service to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    48
    29
    12
    24
See reviews for
46
34
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Well, what people have said about the location is true. It is a great location. Very close to the lovely riverwalk, and not far from downtown. And the price is good. However, there are so many aspects where they have failed to do basic maintenance on the rooms. Most things are cosmetic only, but others somewhat annoying. In our room, the cosmetic issues.....when they repainted the bathroom, they didn't even bother taping off or removing fixtures, so sloppy paint on knobs, hinges, etc., towel rack dented, large chip/chunk broken on the toilet tank lid, table leg split into pieces with exposed splinters. Other non-cosmetic maintenance needed: bathroom faucet should be replaced....impossible to control the temp or flow. Plumbing improvements needed - in the shower water temp oscillates from hot to cold. One of the main reasons I chose this hotel was because it had a pool, but when I arrived and asked about the pool, they said it had just had chemicals added and wouldn't be ready till the next day. The next day when I checked in, they said it wasn't heated yet (water was COLD!) The next morning, it was barely a tolerable temperature, but I swam any way. I'm so frustrated with hotels (not just this one) advertising that they have a pool when it's not currently in a useable state. During this whole time they kept their "pool" advertising sign lit. These many issue seem incongruent with special added touches that they do right, like planter boxes with live flowers all around the second floor walk, towels folded into fancy shapes, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, higher end soaps/shampoo, nice looking lobby and landscaping in front. The microwave and mini-fridge are nice, and good channels on tv. wifi works well. Continental breakfast is standard basics.
This hotel is ok, and a good price, but they need to put a little bit more money and energy into maintaining things when they break.

Room Tip: ask to view the room first - are things broken?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunkeshne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
University inn & Suites would like to thank you for your taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We would like you to know that we value your opinion and any concerns you may have in regards to our establishment.

We apologize that you found your room to be unsatisfactory due to maintenance and plumbing issues. During the date of your stay we were having an unexpected plumbing issue in which we have resolved since and replaced all main bathroom shower faucets in each of our bathrooms.

In addition, would also like to extend our apologies that the pool was not running during your visit. As we just opened our pool for the season the beginning of June, it is a routine that we service the pool and make sure chemical balances are up to standard. We are deeply sorry that it was an inconvenience to your stay. Since this review we have taken the liberty to run pool maintenance during times in which the pool is closed for overnight hours.

It pleases us to know that you found our location and rates reasonable. We strive to keep our rates low and our guests happy in any possible way that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The University Inn and Suites is all about the location. Located directly across Franklin Blvd. from Matthew Knight Arena and the University of Oregon. Just a few blocks from Historic Hayward Field and the numerous track and field events that are held there. There are several restaurants nearby and shopping across Franklin Blvd. Since parking is at a premium on the UO campus, this location fits the bill.

This is not a fancy place but has microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, and a complimentary breakfast that was sufficient for us. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The only downside is that because of the breakfast rush, the breakfast area tended to get messy.

Room Tip: Location, Location, Location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSandBS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel location and nearby amenities. We have recently updated our breakfast room appliances to maximize our morning breakfast organization. Our front desk gladly remembers your stay with us and we are very much looking forward to your next visit through the Eugene area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our visits to Eugene center around the University of Oregon and this motel is right across the street. The car can stay in the lot and you can enjoy walking to both the campus, nearby businesses, and town. The staff is so friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms are clean and pleasant - perfect for our event-packed visits. We will be staying at the University Inn on our next visit to Eugene.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Desk Staff Member at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
University Inn & Suites would like to thank you for writing this thoughtful review. We are very happy that you found our location convenient and our staff pleasant. We look forward to serving you on your next visit through Eugene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

The location of the University Inn was great for me. It's just across the road from the University of Oregon and the new basketball stadium, a few minutes walk to a bus stop, close to heaps of different restaurants/fast food, an organic supermarket and a post office. It was useful to have a microwave and small frig. I had an extended stay for almost 2 months and was able to get a good price per night. With internet included and breakfast it was good value. All the girls at the front desk were friendly and exceptionally helpful - helping to make it a home away from home. The room was clean, and comfortable. It was easy to get downtown on the bus and to then connect to other buses at Eugene station. I found it so easy to get to the shops.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Desk member at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Our front desk staff would like to thank you for writing this considerate review for our hotel. We are so pleased that you found our staff helpful, our location and amenities convenient, and our prices fair. We look forward to serving you in the future on your next visit to Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.5 km away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.7 km away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
1.1 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Greentree Inn
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#12 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Eugene Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene University Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene University Inn & Suites

Property: Eugene University Inn & Suites
Address: 1857 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-1984 (Formerly Franklin Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,746 - ₹ 10,285
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene University Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EUGENE HOTEL - QUALITY UNIVERSITY LODGING Welcome to University Inn & Suites, a 100% smoke-free, family-friendly Eugene, Oregon hotel. You'll enjoy well-appointed accommodations, exceptional service, and an array of amenities to make your visit a most pleasurable and memorable one. An ideal location provides easy access to jogging and biking trails, shopping and dining options, and the Eugene Airport. When you're our guest, you'll always be within close proximity of fun things to do. Eugene attractions range from Lane County Fairgrounds and Alton Baker Park to Autzen Stadium, home of the University of Oregon Ducks football team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Eugene University Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing